6/25 Tomcat AMPS 358, +5=353, +7.5=370 PMPS 366 DOSE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98432

Afternoon all

well, looks like another non-movement day!! we did manage to BARELY dip into the blues last night....but nothing to get too excited about

Tom is on his 6th good shot this AM at new increased dose

I assume we need to increase next shot?

how much should I increase? .25 or .50?

could he be bouncing from the blues (hardly) last PM?

another question for you Cat Gods:

when I first starting posting on the Health Forum, a few suggested that perhaps I had increased too soon and by-passed Tom's ideal dose unit......that I may need to decrease

I don't understand that --but I do believe what others tell me. can anyone explain that weirdness?

do you think that may be the problem with Tom? I don't understand why a dose of 3.25 works way better than a dose of 3.5....

then again, I realize that a cat is a cat.........

thank you all again for your support

~kelly
 
The dose of 3.25 vs. 3.5 -- The 3.25u was working for a bit. And then, it pooped out. It's not uncommon that a dose seems to lose its punch.

It's possible that you increased too quickly. I don't think that I would want you to lower the dose at this point, though.
 
Kelly

The TR protocol does state that if nadirs are below 200, to hold the dose 6-10 cycles and if we see blue, we usually hold the dose 10 cycles. But he just barely dipped his toes in blue. If he were my kitty, I'd increase the dose .25u at your next shot time.

He is still bouncing but he's pretty high and flat. You'll just need to keep up that great monitoring that you are doing. I have a few other thoughts for you that I will post in a little bit. I've got to get dinner on.

I don't think you missed his fitting dose. His SS doesn't have that look and you are testing plenty to catch it if he would be getting way too low from too much insulin. I think you are doing just fine.

If you think of any other questions, please let me know and I will respond when I come back tonight.
 
thanks for your response!!

anxious to read what your other thoughts may be.....\\

I think the only other question I have (today :smile: :smile:) would be regarding injections

I, unfortunately, can only inject in the lower scruff area (I try to migrate down Tom's back-away from the scruff-and then I get a fur shot-don't know why? but I do, so for now I stick with the area that works--perhaps because I can raise a lot of skin whereas in other areas hardly any skin to pull) ......anyway.....the other day I noticed when I picked up his scruff there was a thick underlining (muscle) that came up too....Tom did not like that....I loosened my grip and the underneath layer fell away..........and I shot....and Tom didn't notice. my question is:

I have a feeling there have been times that I didn't let that muscle layer fall away back down and perhaps injected into the muscle....(certainly there are times he cries and other times he doesn't protest).....

perhaps those "muscle" shots actually worked better?

I have re-read old posts from a few members who actually intentionally inject into muscle and works great

I obviously do not want to hurt Tomcat during injections.....but but but but I do want the insulin to work!!!!!

just random thoughts.......I may have never injected into muscle ?, just buzzing in my head the last few days since I felt that layer fall down....and since his shots aren't working!!!

hope you had a great dinner

I am going to increase tomorrow AM .25 to 3.75

thanks again.......such a gift to have you all

ps I thank you last eve for helping Tashie ------a great learning experience for me......I was up with you all for most of it! well, almost most of it.... ;-)

`kelly
 
Kelly

Sorry it took me so long to get back. Dinner was great..thank you :-D

As far as where you shoot, there is some info on this post I wrote on Testing and Shooting Tips. It shows some other places to shoot and also a different method I use to avoid fur shots.

Are you using 31g syringes? It would be a little soon to develop scar tissue or a little fat disc from shooting in the same spot too often. We have had a couple members shoot in the muscle when there was not enough fat. It's actually better to shoot subq and not into the muscle unless the kitty is really thin and has no fat. When you pick up the scruff, I would just grab the fur and pull up. The subq layer but not the underlying muscle should come up.

I know the high numbers are tough to swallow. Perhaps look around at different SSs and you will see many new members whose cats look quite similar to Tom. Lantus takes patience because we move up the dosing scale in very small increments so we don't bypass the fitting dose. It can take time to get to the breakthrough dose and you have to just keep increasing every six cycles until the nadirs get routinely below 200.

Because bounces can take up to six cycles to clear, it's important to be sure it clears before you take up the dose. Tom bounced and then came back down to blue. We want to see him come to green. He might still bounce back up but we just ignore the bounce and focus on the true number.

I'm glad last night helped you learn. I know one day, hopefully soon, Tom and you will join me for a PJ Party :-D

Let us know how else we can help you and atom :-D
 
thanks for that shooting link!

I am using TERUMO 30 gauge- 3/8th length

I love the Terumo's......very slick and quick to dispense insulin

I have tried BD, walmart, and walgreen's brands, all shorts......no good

should I get Terumo 31 gauge next time?

would a 30 vs. 31 make a difference as far as causing scar tissue? or fatty discs? pain?

******So you agree with the increased dose? .25 increase

```kelly
 
I use the Terumo 31g syringes and did find a difference in the "meep" factor in Gracie :lol: with the 30g, she would "meep" when I shot. She doesn't with the 31g. But then, she is a Principessa.

Unless Tom comes down into low blue by morning, I would try the increase. As long as you are testing, you will catch low numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top