6/29 Tomcat AMPS 353, +5=340 PMPS=328

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98757

Afternoon all:

well it looks like Tom and I are in for another increase.......as it looks like yet another flat pink day.....I am worried though as I am scared he will come out of his bounce and then have an increase dose as well! yikes! but but but.....

as Marje said: why wait to get more of the same.

I guess I need to increase next shot PM 6/29. up it another .25 to make it 4 units

**********how do you tell if you have by-passed your best dose? when do we get to that decision? I know that you, Marje, previously told me that Tom's SS does not have the look of missing his fitting dose. can you explain that? I assume you have the same opinion.

when I look back at the 3.25 dose there are a lot of blues......but certainly not good enough


thanks all

`kelly
 
Re: 6/29 Tomcat AMPS 353, +5=340 Dose?

Kelly

Yes...I'd go with the dose increase. If it weren't for those blue numbers, I'd suggest you increase by .5u but just try the .25u.

For one, you test alot and that's great because you are collecting alot of data. If you have bypassed a good dose for him, it would mean he has too much insulin on board and you would most likely see low numbers and then a high bounce. You aren't seeing them. What we have found for kitties whose SS looks like Tom's is that you have to keep increasing until you hit that breakthrough dose which allows him to start seeing green numbers. We have no idea what that might be.

It's important to stay on top of numbers especially because I did suggest you take him up during a bounce. Yes...you can wait until the bounce clears and take him up if you prefer. If you increase before the bounce clears, what "could" happen is the bounce could start to clear at the same time the increased dose kicks in and numbers can come down fast. But, since you do a great job of testing, and you know it can happen, and he has all this flat pink, if he were mine, I'd increase. If he were flat yellow, I'd wait because often we see numbers coming down after flat yellow OR if he's flat yellow, and then spikes up (which could be a sign of a high before a break).

The other thing this great data gives you is an idea of his patterns.

eta: You might want to check out Lucky's SS. Linda definitely hit his breakthrough dose. Sometimes it's not "quite" this evident :-D
 
Re: 6/29 Tomcat AMPS 353, +5=340 PMPS 328

thanks marje! just in time too!

increase .25 is underway

4 units of lantus is currently under Tom's skin as we speak! (unless I managed a fur-shot which would be about due :sad: with my record!)

looking at Lucky and Linda's SS was very informative.......i see what you mean.....

go figure: my vet told me to increase Tom to 4 units exactly one month ago!!!

oh well..........I was definitely NOT prepared back then for what I may be in store for......funny thing about this insulin dance......you really really hope for mid green numbers but conversely YOU DREAD THEM!! :o is it just me?

thanks all

good peaceful night to you all

~kelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top