7/1 Jessica AMPS 352; Did Antibiotic has impact on BG level

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous Condo

Good Morning,
Dose increased since last Friday from 3.25U to 3.5U, not much improved so far.
Vet visited last Saturday and the Vet administrated Anti-biotic just in case Jessica has kidney infection, even though urine culture test was negative.
Could some tell me if there is any impact on BG level after taking the Antibiotic?
I see some elevated in BG level after the anti-biotic has been taken.

Thanks
 
Re: 7/1 Jessica AMPS 352; Did Antibiotic has impact on BG le

Do you know what the antibiotic was and are you continuing it at home? It sounded like your vet gave Jessica a shot. If the vet gave Convenia, it's not a good antibiotic for kidney infections. It's only indication is for skin infections. Vets like to use it because it lasts for 2 weeks. Kidney infections take a longer course of antibiotics.

Some antibiotics that are liquids (not the kind that are injected) are in a sugar syrup base. If this is what Jessica was given, it could have an impact on BG numbers. However, it's more likely that if there's an infection, the antibiotic hasn't had an effect yet.

Just as an FYI, kidney infections take a considerable amount of time to treat. Usually, a cat needs to be on an antibiotic for about a month or more -- usually 4 - 8 weeks. Most often, there's an elevated white count. Diagnosis should also include an ultrasound.

If there is an infection, I would raise Jessica's dose. You want to make sure she's getting enough insulin especially if numbers aren't immediately responding. You just need to monitor carefully since once Jessica starts to respond to the antibiotic, numbers can drop quickly. For now, I'd suggest increasing Jessica's dose to 3.75u.
 
Re: 7/1 Jessica AMPS 352; Did Antibiotic has impact on BG le

Hi Sienne,

She is take Amoxicillin Drop 15 ml. It's a sugar syrup base. Is that good for kidney infection?

Thanks
 
Re: 7/1 Jessica AMPS 352; Did Antibiotic has impact on BG le

Amoxicillin is fine. You may want to ask your vet if the prescription can be called in to a compounding pharmacy so you can get a flavored version that isn't in a syrup base. Most vets seem to overlook that you have a diabetic cat and the sugar syrup isn't a great idea. Alternatively, is Jessica easy to give a pill to? I'm sure amoxicillin comes in pill form and as long as it's not a struggle to get a pill into Jessica, that would also work.
 
Re: 7/1 Jessica AMPS 352; Did Antibiotic has impact on BG le

It's a struggle get a pill to Jessica. I may crush the pill and mix it with the food.
For antibiotic to Jessica. How many cycle will she needs to take? Now she has 15ml bottle, that means, it can last for 7 days.
How do I know she needs another cycle of antibiotic?

Thanks
 
Re: 7/1 Jessica AMPS 352; Did Antibiotic has impact on BG le

If she does have a kidney infection, she'll need to be on an antibiotic for 4 - 6 weeks. You would need an ultrasound to get a diagnosis of kidney infection, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top