mariko
Member Since 2011
Hello!! Happy Canada Day!!
Yesteday's
Recap
6/30 AMPS=137; +2=194; +7=124
6/30 PMPS=112; +2=81; +4=67; +5=77; +6.75=76
7/1 AMPS=112, +2=122, +5=113; +8=113
7/1 PMPS=214; +2=167; +4=146
Lucy is just flat blue today.
She is doing OK, appetite not bad, but she doesn't like the hot.
I got a reply from the vet about the prednisolone.
She thinks it would be fine to try 2.5mg every day instead of 5mg every other day (so the dose is the same), but she said to watch for any signs that her bowels are getting worse- more vomiting, or diarrhea, or not eating. Or coughing but she thinks Lucy may have grown out of asthma.
She also said that there is a possibility that we can reduce her dose in future, but it is entirely unlikely that we can stop prednisolone.
I'm OK about her reply.
At least, Lucy will not be high for 2 cycles, and low for the next 2 cycles.
Same dose of pred. every day may make it easier for me to find the perfect insulin dose for her.
And there is a hope that we can even reduce pred to 1/4 tablet every day in future if she does well with the new med schedule...... hope is good.
So... I'm going to try giving her 2.5mg (half tablet) every day from today.
Hope she'll be OK with the change.
I have to do some work now, but I'll try to visit condo later

Yesteday's
Recap
6/30 AMPS=137; +2=194; +7=124
6/30 PMPS=112; +2=81; +4=67; +5=77; +6.75=76
7/1 AMPS=112, +2=122, +5=113; +8=113
7/1 PMPS=214; +2=167; +4=146
Lucy is just flat blue today.
She is doing OK, appetite not bad, but she doesn't like the hot.
I got a reply from the vet about the prednisolone.
She thinks it would be fine to try 2.5mg every day instead of 5mg every other day (so the dose is the same), but she said to watch for any signs that her bowels are getting worse- more vomiting, or diarrhea, or not eating. Or coughing but she thinks Lucy may have grown out of asthma.
She also said that there is a possibility that we can reduce her dose in future, but it is entirely unlikely that we can stop prednisolone.
I'm OK about her reply.
At least, Lucy will not be high for 2 cycles, and low for the next 2 cycles.
Same dose of pred. every day may make it easier for me to find the perfect insulin dose for her.
And there is a hope that we can even reduce pred to 1/4 tablet every day in future if she does well with the new med schedule...... hope is good.
So... I'm going to try giving her 2.5mg (half tablet) every day from today.
Hope she'll be OK with the change.
I have to do some work now, but I'll try to visit condo later