Elizabeth&Julia&Margaret(GA)
Member Since 2009
Yesterday
+10.75 310
+11.25 251
AMPS 239 0.5U (+11.75)
+3 185
+5 123
+11.25 312
Julia's ears bled better today and Mom got her tests on the first try. We left ointment on them overnight once we were done testing so they could heal.
I'm not sure what to do about our dose. I know we started lower at 0.5. The protocol says:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit."
But I'm lost. It says to hold the starting dose for 5-7 days but kitties with high flat curves could increase after 3 days. Julia was never pink before she started insulin and therefore started bouncing. Should we hold the dose for another day or days? She seems to bounce every time she hits blue which is understandable. And the difference between her 310 at +10.75 at 310 and her 251 at +11.25 has me puzzled. Any dosing help is much appreciated.
If I don't hear an answer by her shot time I'll go ahead and shoot at the 0.5U so we don't lose momentum and I'll use the 0.5 for tomorrow morning as well.. We can always adjust tomorrow night when I'm home.
+10.75 310
+11.25 251
AMPS 239 0.5U (+11.75)
+3 185
+5 123
+11.25 312
Julia's ears bled better today and Mom got her tests on the first try. We left ointment on them overnight once we were done testing so they could heal.
I'm not sure what to do about our dose. I know we started lower at 0.5. The protocol says:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit."
But I'm lost. It says to hold the starting dose for 5-7 days but kitties with high flat curves could increase after 3 days. Julia was never pink before she started insulin and therefore started bouncing. Should we hold the dose for another day or days? She seems to bounce every time she hits blue which is understandable. And the difference between her 310 at +10.75 at 310 and her 251 at +11.25 has me puzzled. Any dosing help is much appreciated.
If I don't hear an answer by her shot time I'll go ahead and shoot at the 0.5U so we don't lose momentum and I'll use the 0.5 for tomorrow morning as well.. We can always adjust tomorrow night when I'm home.