7/3 Jessica AMPS 368, PMPS 359

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous Condo

Good evening,

Jessica drank less water and not that hungry as before. It seems that the antibiotic had some impact on her infection.
Last night +5 212 looks good. Going to take more test tonight.
Vet recommended starting B12 supplementation at 250mcg SQ once weekly for 1 month and then monthly thereafter.
Hope it can help.

Thanks
 
If you have this weekend off, you might want to try to raise her dose. Keep getting those PM mid-cycle tests when you can. You're doing a good job.

J.D. is prescribed 1/4 of a ML of B12 weekly. I just use a fresh insulin syringe to give it. 1/4 ML is 25 units. I am guessing that 250mcg is the same? I tried to used a conversion website to check for you, but it didn't work too well :?
 
Frankie sent me a PM asking for some information based on Jessica's labs and vet visit. The following is what I replied.

The low B12 levels are consistent with intestinal issues where nutrients aren't being absorbed properly. That's the reason for the B12 injections.

Flagyl (metronidazole) is an antibiotic that's used to treat anaerobic bacterial infections that are common in the GI track. Usually, you see diarrhea with this kind of infection. The vet is recommending Flagyl with a probiotic, FortiFlora (any probiotic will work) to help restore the good bacteria that are in the gut.

It sounds like the vet is suggesting that a biopsy will provide more definitive results. This is certainly true but there are trade offs. If you post and include something about GI issues in your subject line, there are a number of people who have cats that have had taken budesonide or dealt with lymphoma, inflammatory bowel disease, etc. who can provide more input.
 
Frankie also asked my opinion on the lab report.

I will just add that budesonide is a localized steroid. It is not processed as systemically as prednisolone. I know of several cats, none diabetic, whose IBD has completely resolved with budesonide. I do think there are a few FDMB cats on it and you could ask on Health for advice on using budesonide with FD.

In my way of thinking, if it helps Jessica, you can always adjust the insulin dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top