Amy & Papaya (GA)
Member Since 2012
Yesterday
I did a pre-bedtime check and yikes, Papaya was at 40. I fed her LC mixed with 17% carb FF and set the alarm to check for two hours later, at which time she was already up to 160. So a high preshot number again this morning, but dropping pretty quickly already by +4.
Some followup on yesterday's advice:
Sienne and Marje, you both suggested yesterday feeding a higher-carb-low-carb food. What percent carb are you suggesting - I assume still below 10, but higher than the FF 4%? Are you suggesting feeding that all the time, or should I try something like the low-low carb at preshot and then the +1.5 and +3 feedings of the higher-low-carb? I may experiment with both of these. The +3 feeding does seem to have helped a bit, so I think this is a good suggestion. As I am about to go into in detail, I don't think I have a lot of room for changing dose, so adjusting food is probably a good option, thank you.
Sienne, you're right, I wasn't differentiating between below-40 and below-50. I will take that into account in future.
Marje, I'd like more information on what you said, "I think if you really tried to get Papaya either on the TR protocol or the Start Low Go Slow Approach, you might see her doing better. I don't think you are using this insulin to its maximum potential to benefit Papaya." In what specific ways, based on the numbers RIGHT NOW (not months ago when I was still figuring this out) Papaya's spreadsheet, would you suggest change?
Is the reason you state I am not "using this insulin to its maximum potential" because I do not decrease as soon as I see a 50?
TR sticky says: "The suggested "guidelines" in the Tight Regulation Protocol are just that... guidelines. Not hard and fast rules.
The Tight Regulation Protocol is a great place to start, but once you gain experience and knowledge of YOUR cat's response to insulin you may find yourself in need of tweaking and refining your approach to treating your cat's diabetes. "Every cat is different" is not just a slogan. Following suggested guidelines is a great place to start, but some kitties will force us to think outside the box."
If you look at the SS around December, I reduced every time the numbers according to the protocol told me to reduce. We worked our way right down to 1 unit, and I ended up with a cat in high pinks and reds, with bloodshot eyes, drinking water like it was going out of style and lying there looking miserable. And in the middle of all that she would still occasionally pull a green out of her hat. So no, I do not take reductions quickly and there is a very good reason for that. I have been waiting until dropping to 50 or so is clearly a pattern and not a freak event.
Or do you think I should be increasing? TR sticky says:
"Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit."
Am I missing something? I don't see where Papaya's nadirs call for an increase. Yes, the preshot numbers are insane, but isn't it nadirs that determine the dose? Even if we give more consideration to the preshots, what would happen if I increase the dose in a cat that can go from black to green in one cycle?
I wasn't familiar with SLGS so I looked it up:
"The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):
a) If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
b) If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
c) If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit."
Even that doesn't call for an increase at Papaya's current numbers, does it?
Can you understand my frustration here? I see new people come on the boards, all freaked out that their cat is diabetic, having to learn to home-test and everything, and then a couple months later their cat is off insulin. I am basically in financial ruin from the expenses treating my cat has already incurred, and getting sick all the time no doubt due in no small part to the completely screwed-up sleep schedule I have been subsisting on for months and months. My cat just doesn't follow the expected behavior, and telling me that it must be because I am not following protocol or not testing enough is not helpful when her numbers are just not falling into the pattern of more "well-behaved" cats.
As to testing, it would be nice if I could stay at home all day, every day, with my cat and test every hour, but there's this little thing called "work" that is necessary if I want to be able to feed myself, the cat, and buy all those test strips (which in Canada are $0.75 per strip, by the way, and it's not always possible to make a border run). So yes, there are times when she's dropping and there are no further tests on the SS. That means I gave her HC, left more out, and hoped for the best because if I miss ANY work I won't be able to pay the rent.
I'm sorry this sounds like such a rant, I'm just finding it frustrating that Papaya is so hard to regulate and really don't see how I can be following the protocol any better. I do appreciate the food suggestion, and will do some experimenting in that regard. If you can tell me SPECIFICALLY how I need to be following protocol better to adjust Papaya's current dose, keeping in mind what I have observed about how Papaya does with too-hasty decreases, please tell me and I will see if I can do better and if that will make a difference.
And please, please, PLEASE, if there are people reading this who have bouncy cats and have found anything that helps, don't feel that you are not allowed to offer your thoughts just because you are not one of the two people on this board who are relied on to give advice. Your cat might be more like mine and what you have found to make even a bit of difference might be what Papaya needs.
Thanks again!
Edited to add: Sorry, forgot to address the suggestion to "feed the curve" - don't worry, I do. I just had stopped putting details of food on the SS since I wasn't posting here very much any more, so was not transferring all the details from the handwritten notebook I have at home. I usually give a teaspoon of something high carb hourly if the low numbers are early in the cycle, a mix of LC and high or medium carb if it's midcycle, or a bit of LC only if it's late in the cycle already.
I did a pre-bedtime check and yikes, Papaya was at 40. I fed her LC mixed with 17% carb FF and set the alarm to check for two hours later, at which time she was already up to 160. So a high preshot number again this morning, but dropping pretty quickly already by +4.
Some followup on yesterday's advice:
Sienne and Marje, you both suggested yesterday feeding a higher-carb-low-carb food. What percent carb are you suggesting - I assume still below 10, but higher than the FF 4%? Are you suggesting feeding that all the time, or should I try something like the low-low carb at preshot and then the +1.5 and +3 feedings of the higher-low-carb? I may experiment with both of these. The +3 feeding does seem to have helped a bit, so I think this is a good suggestion. As I am about to go into in detail, I don't think I have a lot of room for changing dose, so adjusting food is probably a good option, thank you.
Sienne, you're right, I wasn't differentiating between below-40 and below-50. I will take that into account in future.
Marje, I'd like more information on what you said, "I think if you really tried to get Papaya either on the TR protocol or the Start Low Go Slow Approach, you might see her doing better. I don't think you are using this insulin to its maximum potential to benefit Papaya." In what specific ways, based on the numbers RIGHT NOW (not months ago when I was still figuring this out) Papaya's spreadsheet, would you suggest change?
Is the reason you state I am not "using this insulin to its maximum potential" because I do not decrease as soon as I see a 50?
TR sticky says: "The suggested "guidelines" in the Tight Regulation Protocol are just that... guidelines. Not hard and fast rules.
The Tight Regulation Protocol is a great place to start, but once you gain experience and knowledge of YOUR cat's response to insulin you may find yourself in need of tweaking and refining your approach to treating your cat's diabetes. "Every cat is different" is not just a slogan. Following suggested guidelines is a great place to start, but some kitties will force us to think outside the box."
If you look at the SS around December, I reduced every time the numbers according to the protocol told me to reduce. We worked our way right down to 1 unit, and I ended up with a cat in high pinks and reds, with bloodshot eyes, drinking water like it was going out of style and lying there looking miserable. And in the middle of all that she would still occasionally pull a green out of her hat. So no, I do not take reductions quickly and there is a very good reason for that. I have been waiting until dropping to 50 or so is clearly a pattern and not a freak event.
Or do you think I should be increasing? TR sticky says:
"Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit."
Am I missing something? I don't see where Papaya's nadirs call for an increase. Yes, the preshot numbers are insane, but isn't it nadirs that determine the dose? Even if we give more consideration to the preshots, what would happen if I increase the dose in a cat that can go from black to green in one cycle?
I wasn't familiar with SLGS so I looked it up:
"The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):
a) If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
b) If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
c) If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit."
Even that doesn't call for an increase at Papaya's current numbers, does it?
Can you understand my frustration here? I see new people come on the boards, all freaked out that their cat is diabetic, having to learn to home-test and everything, and then a couple months later their cat is off insulin. I am basically in financial ruin from the expenses treating my cat has already incurred, and getting sick all the time no doubt due in no small part to the completely screwed-up sleep schedule I have been subsisting on for months and months. My cat just doesn't follow the expected behavior, and telling me that it must be because I am not following protocol or not testing enough is not helpful when her numbers are just not falling into the pattern of more "well-behaved" cats.
As to testing, it would be nice if I could stay at home all day, every day, with my cat and test every hour, but there's this little thing called "work" that is necessary if I want to be able to feed myself, the cat, and buy all those test strips (which in Canada are $0.75 per strip, by the way, and it's not always possible to make a border run). So yes, there are times when she's dropping and there are no further tests on the SS. That means I gave her HC, left more out, and hoped for the best because if I miss ANY work I won't be able to pay the rent.
I'm sorry this sounds like such a rant, I'm just finding it frustrating that Papaya is so hard to regulate and really don't see how I can be following the protocol any better. I do appreciate the food suggestion, and will do some experimenting in that regard. If you can tell me SPECIFICALLY how I need to be following protocol better to adjust Papaya's current dose, keeping in mind what I have observed about how Papaya does with too-hasty decreases, please tell me and I will see if I can do better and if that will make a difference.
And please, please, PLEASE, if there are people reading this who have bouncy cats and have found anything that helps, don't feel that you are not allowed to offer your thoughts just because you are not one of the two people on this board who are relied on to give advice. Your cat might be more like mine and what you have found to make even a bit of difference might be what Papaya needs.
Thanks again!
Edited to add: Sorry, forgot to address the suggestion to "feed the curve" - don't worry, I do. I just had stopped putting details of food on the SS since I wasn't posting here very much any more, so was not transferring all the details from the handwritten notebook I have at home. I usually give a teaspoon of something high carb hourly if the low numbers are early in the cycle, a mix of LC and high or medium carb if it's midcycle, or a bit of LC only if it's late in the cycle already.