Jamie & Jupiter
Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99176&p=1059921#p1059921 (surgery explained/vet update)
I ended up deciding to shoot 0.5u this morning. Even with 3 skipped shots recently, and a reduced dose, he is still in great numbers. I didn’t want to shoot more, and then have to struggle all day to get him to eat to keep him above 50, so I felt like a small dose or a skip was the best option. I am thinking that maybe if his numbers stay in the greens all day, and don’t go too low, maybe I will continue with the .5u dose for now? Guess we will see how the day goes and decide a little later.
Jupiter is still acting weird. He has been hiding constantly. He usually only hides when he is scared, like when its raining and thundering – or when someone knocks at the door – or when someone he doesn’t know comes here. But he is just hiding all day long for no reason and that worries me. His appetite is off. He has even turned his head away from a few treats. He LOVES his treats and has never ever ever rejected a treat before.
So I called the vet to ask if there was anything I could do for him… is there any other antibiotics we could try? Is this the right dose for him? Etc… told them I tried giving him some forti flora and he wouldn’t eat it.
They said they would talk to the vet and call me back. They called me back and they said as long as he is eating something... even a little bit... then they want me to keep giving him the antibiotics. they said they really want him to get all of the antibiotics since he is having surgery on the 18th they want it to heal up some more and make sure no infections. they said they dont think changing the antibiotic will help, she said if this antibiotic is making him feel a little sick then they will all probably make him sick. she said keep giving it to him unless he completely stops eating or starts vomiting a lot
she said maybe he is just acting weird because of his diabetes. she asked me about the insulin and stuff and I just told her that his numbers have been really good recently and we have skipped a few shots and gave a reduced shot today. She said sometimes their blood sugar level can effect their appetite. I told her I REALLY dont think it has to do with the diabetes though
Ugh I really don’t like seeing my sweet baby boy like this. I just want him to feel all better!
I really want to say thank you to everyone who visited Jupes condo yesterday. Thank you for all the birthday wishes. Thank you for all of the thoughts and prayers for Jupe and his surgery. Thank you for all of the support and advice. Want to say a few special thank you's although you all deserve so many thank yous because you have all been so kind with your advice and support.
A special thank you to Marje for all of the kindness, advice, and support you have given to both Jupiter and I. Through this whole FD experience with Jupiter, you have been here for both Jupiter and I – and there is no way for me to express how much I appreciate that.
I also want to say a special thank you to Deb & Wink (Jupe’s FDMB Godmother). Deb, you have been so kind and supportive. Thank you for taking the time to always give me great advice and support, and thank you for being there and always watching out for my sweet baby boy Jupe. You are amazing!
Todays Numbers:
AMPS-78
Shot 0.5u @ 9:04am
+2-73
+4.5-74
+8-53
+8.5-57
+9.5-56
+10-62
+11.5-61
PMPS-63
Shot 0.5u @ 9:01pm
+1.5-56
+3-54
+4.5-47
+5-55
+5.5-69
+6.75-57
Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-157
Shot 1.5u @ 9:00am
+2.25-112
+4.5-65
+5.5-65
+7-52 coaxed Jupe to eat some LC
+7.75-46 gave some 15% HC gravy
+8.25-53
+9.25-61
+10.5-59
+11-57
PMBG-48
SKIPPED SHOT
+0.5-50
+1.5-58
+2.5-64
+4.5-85
+6-77
+9-64
+11-82
I ended up deciding to shoot 0.5u this morning. Even with 3 skipped shots recently, and a reduced dose, he is still in great numbers. I didn’t want to shoot more, and then have to struggle all day to get him to eat to keep him above 50, so I felt like a small dose or a skip was the best option. I am thinking that maybe if his numbers stay in the greens all day, and don’t go too low, maybe I will continue with the .5u dose for now? Guess we will see how the day goes and decide a little later.
Jupiter is still acting weird. He has been hiding constantly. He usually only hides when he is scared, like when its raining and thundering – or when someone knocks at the door – or when someone he doesn’t know comes here. But he is just hiding all day long for no reason and that worries me. His appetite is off. He has even turned his head away from a few treats. He LOVES his treats and has never ever ever rejected a treat before.
So I called the vet to ask if there was anything I could do for him… is there any other antibiotics we could try? Is this the right dose for him? Etc… told them I tried giving him some forti flora and he wouldn’t eat it.
They said they would talk to the vet and call me back. They called me back and they said as long as he is eating something... even a little bit... then they want me to keep giving him the antibiotics. they said they really want him to get all of the antibiotics since he is having surgery on the 18th they want it to heal up some more and make sure no infections. they said they dont think changing the antibiotic will help, she said if this antibiotic is making him feel a little sick then they will all probably make him sick. she said keep giving it to him unless he completely stops eating or starts vomiting a lot
she said maybe he is just acting weird because of his diabetes. she asked me about the insulin and stuff and I just told her that his numbers have been really good recently and we have skipped a few shots and gave a reduced shot today. She said sometimes their blood sugar level can effect their appetite. I told her I REALLY dont think it has to do with the diabetes though
Ugh I really don’t like seeing my sweet baby boy like this. I just want him to feel all better!
I really want to say thank you to everyone who visited Jupes condo yesterday. Thank you for all the birthday wishes. Thank you for all of the thoughts and prayers for Jupe and his surgery. Thank you for all of the support and advice. Want to say a few special thank you's although you all deserve so many thank yous because you have all been so kind with your advice and support.
A special thank you to Marje for all of the kindness, advice, and support you have given to both Jupiter and I. Through this whole FD experience with Jupiter, you have been here for both Jupiter and I – and there is no way for me to express how much I appreciate that.
I also want to say a special thank you to Deb & Wink (Jupe’s FDMB Godmother). Deb, you have been so kind and supportive. Thank you for taking the time to always give me great advice and support, and thank you for being there and always watching out for my sweet baby boy Jupe. You are amazing!
Todays Numbers:
AMPS-78
Shot 0.5u @ 9:04am
+2-73
+4.5-74
+8-53
+8.5-57
+9.5-56
+10-62
+11.5-61
PMPS-63
Shot 0.5u @ 9:01pm
+1.5-56
+3-54
+4.5-47
+5-55
+5.5-69
+6.75-57
Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-157
Shot 1.5u @ 9:00am
+2.25-112
+4.5-65
+5.5-65
+7-52 coaxed Jupe to eat some LC
+7.75-46 gave some 15% HC gravy
+8.25-53
+9.25-61
+10.5-59
+11-57
PMBG-48
SKIPPED SHOT
+0.5-50
+1.5-58
+2.5-64
+4.5-85
+6-77
+9-64
+11-82