7/9 Bob AMPS=324, PMPS=310 Should I increase dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
hello all! Hopefully everyone woke up in a better mood than me. I'm quite grouchy and tired of these numbers. Can't get Mr. Picky to eat anything that is good for him and I am anxiously awaiting a good number and am disappointed every time I check his blood.

good news is no ketones and he seems to be in a little better mood than the past few days. But now my mood is crappy. blah. :evil:
 
Re: 7/9 Bob AMPS=324

Hi guys .. no worries .. we've all been grouchy over numbers at one point or another .. just hang in there .. eventually it will all come together! have a great day!
 
Re: 7/9 Bob AMPS=324

Wow! I just checked out Mocha's ss! Did something happen that she all of a sudden started getting all those greens or did you just have to be patient for 2 years (yikes!)?
 
I've gotten a few numbers forBob @ 4 units - looks like to me he's pretty much a straight line as usual. Should I increase to 4.25?
 
Although I'm pretty new myself, I have steadily been increasing Poe at .25 every 7th cycle because hes been running in the yellows for the most part. He might throw me a blue here and there, and there were some pinks, but his cycle stays pretty much in yellow. I just increased him to 2.25 last night, so tonight's his 3rd cycle begins in the new dose.

I see Bob has lots of yellow too, with those pinks he likes to throw like Poe. I see you been holding the 4.0 for a while, so I would increase .25 to 4.25, and test every PS +2 for sure. I always try to get at least one in the +5 - +7 range, then always a +11.

Thats my thoughts, but like I said I'm new also, and that's what I've been doing with Poe, so hopefully more experienced will chime in soon for confirmation.
 
Dara PM'd me and asked me to look at Bob's SS. Here is Bob's 7/8 Condo

Sienne felt Bob could probably use an increase in insulin but asked for any mid cycle test data. I would raise his dose to 4.25u but I am concerned about the lack of tests on some cycles. I know you work and it's difficult but is there any way to get a +2 before you leave? Can you move your shot time to enable a +2 before you go to work? Is it possible to get an in the door test when you get home? And I would suggest you get a +2 test every night or at least a before bed test no matter how high his numbers are. It just gives us more data. As you move closer to a good dose, we really need to see what he's doing. We understand work and needing to sleep so any out the door/in the door day tests and before bed night tests really do help us.

I'm glad he was ketone negative yesterday. It would be good if you can do whatever you can to get a urine test as long as he is high and flat.

Good job, Dara! I know it is challenging when you work but I also know you are doing the best anyone can do with a full time job.
 
Dara asked that I take a look at Bob's SS, as well.

I agree with everything Marje posted. I don't know if your schedule can accommodate the schedule change that Marje suggested. It's a thought -- if it will work, great! If not, then it's really important that you get at least a before bed test every night. This is even more the case when you start to see more movement in Bob's numbers. What I would suggest is that if you get a test tonight, I think you'll be OK to increase to 4.25u in the AM.

To answer the question you asked Devon, it's not a matter of waiting 2 years! When a kitty hits his/her good dose, all of a sudden everything snaps into place. The SS turns largely to green.

Karen -- Marje and I have asked Dara to hold off on increases until there were some additional spot checks.
 
Thanks everyone! It's hard to change his shot times because of work. 7 and 7 work perfectly. If i Move it one way or another, I may not be able to make sure his shots are 12 hours apart. I can't do the +2 AM until the weekend. I can get a +2 PM tomorrow (got +3 tonite and it was 326). I may be able to get a +2 AM next week sometime when my receptionist is back in town. I can also get a 10.5 tomorrow as soon ad im home. Ill get those numbers and post tomorrow and will hold off on the increase. Correct?

Is the nova max ketone test as good as the urine test? It's MUCH easier than trying to get near bob when he's peeing!! :smile:
 
hey Dara and Bob,

Bob, did you have a littermate called Tomcat? I swear Dara, you and I have the same CAT!! I feel your frustration .....I so understand that you just want to pull your hair out wondering WHAT IS UP WITH THIS INSULIN!!!??? WHY DOESN'T IT WORK???

We are basically on the same dose ......basically "high" dose compared to others....and we both walk that ugly pink/high yellow line.

mind you, today was a rare green exception for Tom.....but I usually am in the same boat as you 2.


I am anxiously awaiting a good number and am disappointed every time I check his blood

that is me too!! you are so hopeful when that meter beeps...and wait and wait and wait....and DARN IT....BG hasn't moved!/and or is climbing higher!!!. "sigh": yet another non-movement cycle as the poor cat suffers yet another day....

I am watching you two and hopeful that Bob finds some nice "colors" soon.

good luck getting those needed additional spot checks! it must be very difficult when your schedule makes it impossible. I have THE GREATEST respect and sympathy for those of you that have to grab those keys and head for the door every day

~Kelly and Tom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top