7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5 109 +6 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarensPoe

Member Since 2013
W00t !! We got a blue !!

Yesterday:

AMPS 304
+2 325
+11 276
PMPS 277
+2 270
+4.5 228
+11 204

Not as hungry as normal this morning, but he ate enough to shoot him, which I did. This 2.25 is looking sweet, especially since in my mind anyway, the 3rd cycle of the dose is when I start to see something, and I am now. Now to hold this surf and go softly down just a bit. I am curious to see the AMPS +2.

Tummy vines to J.D. this morning and to all the kitties who need them. Peaceful happy day to the beans.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe AMPS 197

YAY BLUE!!
Now to hold this surf and go softly down just a bit.
I'm adding my crossed fingers and paws for this!
Have a wonderful day, Karen,
 
Re: 7/10 Poe AMPS 197 +2 208

YAY Another blue !!!!

ran home at lunch to check him. His auto feeder had opened, he still had part of his 2nd breffis left. tested and gave him some boiled chicken treats

Surf smooth Poe !!

ETA: This might be premature, but I'd like to know as a "just in case."

I know the threshold for noobs to shoot low is 200. I'm in hmmm I think about week 7 now, so are we still considered "newly diagnosed?"

Thanks
 
Re: 7/10 Poe AMPS 197 +2 208 +5.5 183 +11 198 PMPS 169

He dropped some between AMPS +11 (198) and PMPS (169)

I've shot when he was lower, but the dose was also lower.

It's all relevant, correct? Wanting to make sure that he's not considered newly diagnosed and to not shoot under 200 threshold?
 
Re: 7/10 Poe AMPS 197 +2 208 +5.5 183 +11 198 PMPS 169

I gave him his shot. He didn't eat like he normally does, but I'm thinking with his BG lowering into better ranges, his appetite will decrease as well.

I gave him about 2.75 oz of FF Classic...he's eaten about 1/2 of that so far, but he never finishes it all in one sitting. He'll go back to nibble on it.

I'm going to test +1 cause I am nervous shooting this low, but sure don't want to lose this momentum in this range.

I would like someone to stay with me during the next few hours...just to be sure. Been a while since I was a bit panicked.

Thanks
 
Re: 7/10 Poe AMPS 197 +2 208 +5.5 183 +11 198 PMPS 169

Hi Karen,

That 200 BG threshold is for over in Health when people are so new, they are "wet behind the ears." You've had some good 2 months here. You do good data collection with the testing.

My understanding is that you went ahead and shot the 2.25U tonight, but are nervous because this is the first time you have shot so low.

Please update the SS and be sure to get a +1 and a +2 this evening and we can go from there.

I'll be on the phone with Rags mom Becki, to help her with getting Rags SS set up. I'll subscribe to your condo for the evening so I'll get email updates when there is a new post.

I can stay up as late as you need.

You have plenty of strips for testing? some MC (medium carb) and HC (high carb) food? some karo if needed? Can stay up a bit?

You'll be fine. We'lll walk you through this.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Yes, I shot the 2.25 (just added to SS).

I have plenty of HC food, 50+ strips, huge bottle of Karo, a feeding syringe, plenty of cigs (ohhh well thats for me :P lol). So, I'm set. I shot a 139 a while back...just been a while...he was flat for quite a while.

Thank you sooooooo much for holding my hand :-D
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Glad to do a little assist for you this evening. It's ok to be a nervous. nailbite_smile

I'm partial to chocolate. May pull out a couple of pieces of the Dove dark later this evening. ;-)

I've got your condo open in one window, Poe's SS in another, email open in a third, weather map in a 4th, etc....

If and it's a big if, the thunderstorms knock out my power (antijinx) and no one else steps in to help you, edit your very first post and put that 911 icon on your post to get some more eyes on you. Or post over in Health. Most people can walk you through these lower numbers.

ETA: looks like those thunderstorms split right around me and half went north, half went south.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

PMPS +1 159

He's still munching on his dinner too.

Next one at +2
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Yes please, +2 for the next test. We'll see what the numbers are and go from there.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

ok his dinner is almost gone...he got some boiled chicken for treat..next one in 45 min
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Very Nice!

I can't stay up with you tonight as I am exhausted from last night, I'm glad Deb can.

I am just so happy that you are getting somewhat of a breakthrough :-D

J.D. says thanks for the tummy feel better vines.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Been lurking - just wanted to say nice shootin! I've noticed plenty of people usually watch condos but won't make comments if things get dicey so you can be focused with one caregiver. They're out there, though - you're never alone in Lantus Land! Surf safely lil Poe!
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Been a while since I shot low...and I sure dont wanna lose this momentum we got going for Poe.

No worries Dyana...you have held my hand alot :-D

Hope J.D is feeling better and you get a good nights sleep (hugs)
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

+2 is 142 going to give him a few boiled chicken treats after you give me ok :)
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Just an FYI...

On the Health board, 200 is the "post and ask for help" number. On this board, we use 150. Regardless, it's great that you shot and are shining up your BOS. Poe is looking good!!
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 - need some eyes with me tonight for a

Yes, it's fine to give Poe a few pieces of chicken as a treat.

A +4 next please

Would you also update your subject line in your first post for this condo? The PMPS numbers and the additional + numbers would be great. Thanks.

I did mention earlier in this condo, that 200 was the Health forum threshold number for posting for help, and 150 was the post for help number here in TR.

Karen PM'd me and asked if I'd keep on eye out for Poe this evening because Karen was a little nervous about shooting this low since she has not done it in a while. I told her I was happy to oblige.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

ok..couple of treats...hes a happy boy...playful purry..all in place.

See you in a couple of hours and thanks again :-D
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

I expect Poe may be under 100 come that +4. We'll keep him surfing in those greens with a bit of low carb food if that is the case.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

He did finally finish his dinner. I won't give him anything til next test.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

Leave him a little bit hungry, just in case we need to bring him up with food.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

Do you have some good coffee or chocolate for yourself? It looks like it may be an exciting night for you :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

:-D I have cigs, and even some sangria in the fridge. Oh !! I have chocolate ice cream and cake too hahha

I have to admit though, I'm concerned about tomorrow when I have to go to work after his AMPS +2. I always leave him food and I have the auto feeder now too. Sometimes I'm lucky and can run home to test and check on him.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

I expect that after he drops more tonight, he will bounce back up by AMPS tomorrow.

It would be a good idea to plan on getting a +11 or +11.5 tomorrow AM. Trying to plan a little bit ahead here for you.

You'll probably have a late night tonight, with the additional testing we'll probably need to have you do between +4 and +6-7.

Sounds like you are ready for your pajama party! Let's rock it!

Can you set your alarm and be sure to have it wake you up for some of those late night tests? Are you a night owl usually? or an early to bed, early to rise type of gal?
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

I always get the +2 on every cycle and the +11 too. Yes, I can work out the +6 or +7 tonight.

By the way, I'm central time, so an hour behind you. The +6 is 11:30 my time. I can a +7 if that's better too.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

I realize you are central time and 1 hour behind me. It's fine.

Insomnia often keeps me awake, so might as well stay up with you here.

We'll probably need some more tests after that +4 and before the +6. That is my expectation anyway.

Poe dropped 27 points(16%) in 2 hours from PMPS to +2. That usually means an active cycle, possibly very active with an early drop.

Need to go give my 3 kitties their second dinner. BRB.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142

I still haven't quite figured out his nadir. Maybe I didn't get enough of the tests in the +5 to +7 range.

Only time I can really get those is on the weekend, but I always try to get the +4 or +5 before I got to bed.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89

Well, he needs to wait until the next test. Don't think I have any cat sized patience pants.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89

He is really playful too...I keep playing with him so I can watch him closer ...

grabs another pair of patience pants herself
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82

Just 1 teaspoon LC this time, and test again in 30 minutes. It's not really all that low yet. We want him a bit hungry still, in case he dives lower.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82

He is sooo not liking me right now....I have to giggle cause he's looking at me the same way that he did when I first tested him and cried my eyes out. That "what the hell is wrong with you?!!" look :lol:
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82

Tell Poe it's Auntie Deb that is making you only give him such tiny amounts of food at one time. I'll take all the blame here, no problem. :shock:

Pj Party picture for you.
 

Attachments

  • cats pajamas 1.jpg
    cats pajamas 1.jpg
    7.3 KB · Views: 1,096
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95

1 teaspoon and another test in 30 minutes.

He's surfing very nicely so far.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95

ok and I love the pic...the "Auntie Deb made me do it" worked :lol:
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95

All this has now raised questions that I've thought about before, but never really had to ask.

If you leave food out for them, and they head down, would they automatically go eat? I would think yes, cause I see how he is behaving, but I'm thinking that they would obviously eat much more than what I'm giving him, and then would not drop as much or as fast?
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95

Some cats will seek out food if they feel their BG's dropping low. And of course as you noted, they would eat more at one time than we are giving Poe. The numbers would go higher and a bit quicker. We are trying to smooth out that curve by doing the 1-2 teaspoons at a time.

You won't always be able to stay up or stay home to do this. In circumstances like that, you need to use your best judgment about leaving out MC or HC food for Poe.

We also have not needed to pull out and MC or HC food yet. The LC has been keeping Poe surfing in that nice 80's and 90's range.

Only if the numbers dropped lower, 40's and 50's do we pull out the higher carb foods, and maybe a drop or two of syrup.

"Feed the 40's" is one of our mantras here.

Hope you are liking these nice numbers this evening. Nice pancreas healing numbers.

I'm also having you test a bit more this evening, to find that nadir. You may want to try for some random tests on either side of the +5 you are usually able to get. I know, it's hard with our busy lives to do this. But Poe is ready for the next step and a few more numbers to help us find the nadir would be helpful.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5

No food, one more test at +6 and then we may call it a night. or need one more test to be sure. We won't know until we 'roll the dice'.

I want to see that next number without any more food influence.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5

ok. On either side of the +5 meaning a +3, +7, +8 range?

I'm usually out the door Mon-Fri after the AMPS +2, sometimes lucky enough to come home and catch a +5 or +6, but then the next one I could most likely get is a +10. For sure +11 on both cycles. The +5 I can get in the PM cycle, and in the AM cycle on the weekends or holidays, etc, unless I catch a break and can dash home.

+7 and +8's are kinda rough during the week, unless I set my alarm for the PM cycle.

Be back in about 25 min with the +6. Thank you again for walking me through all this. I've made notes in his ss of the food and times so I have a record.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5

Hi Karen

Very nice cycle and good job with Deb helping :-D

I'd like to add a bit to the conversation. I think it's important to see where you are in the cycle when you are deciding what to feed. I would not feed HC for 50s unless its early in the cycle and numbers are dropping.

I also think its important to learn what works for your kitty. IMHO, it generally is not necessary to use syrup unless, again, it's early in the cycle and kitty has dropped into the 40s or less or anytime the kitty drops into 30s. Or if your kitty has an allergy to the HC gravy...then you might need to use a drop of syrup in LC food. It's all about finding out how carb sensitive Poe is. He's reacting very well to just the LC tonight.

I, personally, don't use anything over 10% to control numbers unless Gracie goes into the low 30s. Then she gets a couple tsp of 10% and one drop of syrup. So the moral is "know thy cat" and only use what they actually need to manage the curve. The goal is a dose that allows you to feed their normal LC food on whatever schedule works best for them.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5

I think you could test for the nadir at +5/+6. It's good to have a general idea of the nadir, but it can move from cycle to cycle so I don't get too wrapped around when it is exactly. I always think it is best to get a rising number not influenced by food before you quit testing unless you really, really know your cat and the cycles are very consistent.

It's good to have an idea of onset, nadir, and duration as long as you know they can change.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5

I've been thinking about his feeding schedule. Right now, for sure, I remove all food 2 hours prior to PS. Once I test, I give him a 3 oz can the FF classic which usually holds him good until I get the +2 test. During the week, I leave food for him. On the weekend, I do the same, but instead of leaving it, I give him a little here and there, almost as if it was left for him. He lets me know when he wants to eat.

At the end of the day, he probably consumes a total of around 6-10 oz a day, but I've noticed that when his BG is low, meaning closer to a normal range, his appetite decreases a bit. He weighs around 15 lbs now and the vet told me that he should never be less than 12. He is just a big cat to begin with.

I weigh him every couple of weeks of so, and need to start making better notes on his SS.

This was another learning curve for me tonight. It's one thing to read all the stickys, but to put them in action and see the results is quite a different thing.

Back in a few with the +6. Thanks for all the input...it's really appreciated as I feel as though I was still kind of shooting from the hip for a long time.
 
Re: 7/10 Poe PMPS 169 +1 159 +2 142 +4 89 +4.5 82 +5 95 +5.5

Marje has given you some good information. Good reading there and make yourself some notes for the future.

ok. On either side of the +5 meaning a +3, +7, +8 range?
I'd suggest some +4's, some +6's when you can. Like those weekends you mentioned.

Those neglected +1 and +2's tell you how long it takes for the insulin to start working in Poe.
The +10 and +11's tell you if your pre-shots are rising or falling numbers.

All good data to gather as you get a chance. It will help you when you need to shoot more of these low numbers, to see more of the pattern. You do not want to get these every day. Mix it up a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top