7/11 Snoball AMPS=239 PMPS=173

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Had a stressful night last night with an injured civvie but got everybody calmed down for the night. Snoball's numbers were nice and low so I watched him for hypo all night. Snoball was not as easy going with the testing this morning as he usually is. His ear might be sore (he only allows testing on his right ear).

I am however worried about his dose and my upcoming vacation. I have a caretaker coming in twice a day to give insulin and feed but she will not be testing. I only have this week and next week to get him on a safe dose. So, should I stay at the 1.5u for now and lower it while I am on vacation?

I will be gone for six days.
 
Re: 7/11 Snoball AMPS=239

Hi guys .. I'm not sure if I've been to your condo before or not, so welcome from us! No dosing advice from me, but I am sure others will help figure out the best dose for while you are away .. have a great day!
 
Hello.
Here's your condo from yesterday. helps to keep them connected so others can read a little history.
snoball's 7/10 condo


I think from yesterday they were thinking you might go to the 1.0 unit .... so you can shoot the same amount in the morning cycle and the evening cycle. Lantus likes consistency.
You will want to be consistent as much as you can for now until it's time to go on your trip. It's too early to determine the dose for your trip until everyone can see
how you are doing these week and next.

So hopefully, I'm bumping you up with your question and someone will come give more advice.

Kudos on taking on a foster.
Welcome to LantusLand.
 
Nice PMPS! I can't give dose advice yet but I just had petsitters in and Sienne had me post about 2 days before I left on vacation to get dose advice for the petsitters. We ended up knocking Nikki's dose back by .25 to keep her safe while I was gone. You may need to do more or less than that but I'm sure you'll get good advice!

Some other things Sienne suggested were to use a colored liquid like juice or milk to draw up a sample syringe so that the petsitter can compare what they are drawing to the sample. I also left a list with my vet's contact info as well as the closest emergency vet hospital. Hopefully they'll never need to use those numbers! :-D
 
I was going to suggest the same thing...that you consider not reducing the dose (unless Snoball earns a reduction) until a day or so before you go.

We can take a look at Snoballs SS and make a suggestion for you on the dose.
 
We upped his dose gradually from 1.0 because he wasn't getting out of the 300s so I would hate to go back down there while he is getting better numbers on the higher dose - but for vacation, I would want to lower his dose so I will seek your advice for how much at the end of next week when I am getting closer. Also, my catsitter is the owner of the rescue agency for whom I am fostering so Snoball is in good hands as far as measuring the dose. Thanks for the great advice.

For now though, I agree that his dose AM/PM dose should be consistent - at 1.5u. I am going to try to get some overnight tests this weekend like a +6
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top