7/11 Tomcat AMPS 303, +5=136 +12/+13=134 PMPS 154, +2=239

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99575

evening all


well, tom and I had our first stalled PM shot (1.5 hrs). I know it wasn't at all low (134)...but for two newbies like us...wow, shocker! I wanted so badly to fire up the computer and post,....but do any of you have DH that likes to eat dinner on time?


so I think I did what I was supposed to do...with two exceptions. I should have just shot at normal time. I mean 134 isn't anything to get excited about. but I was. :?: :o

and rule number 2 I broke....I fed him. I know I am not supposed to and I did hold out for almost an hour. I caved in. you all know the situation....rice on the stove...meatloaf almost ready...hubby looking at watch....cat screaming feed me feed me


okay....so here we are. I got a +1 and a +2. of course I will get a +3,4,5,6,7,etc. I am good to go on all supplies

I think we are good. ????? are we???? I don't think Tom is much of a food spiker (well, maybe he is?) but the good news is he is a great eater! I am a tad concerned...just a tad, as sometimes he can drop 300 points and as you can see he doesn't have that to spare!!

I will be so relieved when this cycle is over just so I have the info and data on what he does with a low (to us) PS value.

so here is the question: what is going on with Tom's cycle lately? could his nadir be changing? or is this Lantus at its best? well, not best....but a nice bluish Lantus cycle.


it seems like lately his PS value is lower than mid-cycle.


I suppose I need to get yet more more more spot checks on the poor fellow.


thanks
~kelly
 
Re: 7/11 Tomcat AMPS 303, +5=136 +12/+13=134 PMPS 154, +2=23

hello.
I haven't visited you yet. I've been around less the last couple of days.

What I see when I look at your ss is that Tomcat bounces from blues....
His body isn't used to the lower numbers so his liver panics , thus he bounces.....


You just have to be patient.
Keep getting those random tests and try to catch those lows....

Looks like you are doing well with getting some already.
 
Re: 7/11 Tomcat AMPS 303, +5=136 +12/+13=134 PMPS 154, +2=23

tomtom13 said:
I am a tad concerned...just a tad, as sometimes he can drop 300 points and as you can see he doesn't have that to spare!!

Hi Kelly! The only example of it I can see so far on your spreadsheet is on June 7, but as you continue you will likely find that when you shoot a lower number, it tends to be somewhat of a flatter cycle. I know it's really scary at first to shoot those lower numbers, but I have noticed that the really big drops I see in my cat's blood sugar after getting an insulin shot are actually when she starts off high, rather than when she is already low. So at first you think, wow, if the BG drops hundreds of points after a shot how can I possibly shoot when it's just around 100? Mathematically it looks like you'd be into negative numbers . . . yikes! But actually when I shoot when she's already lower there is often not a huge drop. She will pretty much just hover around the same mark or a bit lower for that whole cycle.

Of course you do need to monitor carefully, and help out with higher carb food IF he decides to go a bit too low, especially when you don't have a lot of information about how he'll react when you shoot at progressively lower numbers, but you're already doing super with the home testing so it doesn't look like you'll have a problem with that! Nice to see the blue, for sure, and next up is green :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/11 Tomcat AMPS 303, +5=136 +12/+13=134 PMPS 154, +2=23

What a lovely surf today. It is looking like Tomcat got on a trampoline and bounced, though.
 
Re: 7/11 Tomcat AMPS 303, +5=136 +12/+13=134 PMPS 154, +2=23

thanks guys for looking in

looks like it will be a climbing cycle....oh well.
+3.5=298
thanks for the explanation on shooting a low number. it just doesn't make common sense that shooting a low number would give a flatter cycle and when shooting a high number, the insulin works like crazy (sometimes!!). ?????????? how does the insulin know the difference? well, I guess it is the cat that knows the difference. a helping liver I guess?

but then again......I should no longer be surprised by ANY OF THIS!!

so next time: I will shoot without delay if 150 or greater....or another value, or still too new?

was it right to stall for 1.5 hours because he was not rising on his own and less than 150 for the first time?

I have no problem getting back on schedule, I just get back to normal shot times by 15 min increments right?

I think one more check before bed is good enough....right? like a +7

thanks again

kelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top