meatball_mommy
Member
I started a thread with some questions in the relaxed forum, but moving over here based on what's transpired today. Looking for advice on how much Lantus to give for tonight's PM shot around 7 PM. But first, some quick background...
New diabetic; started Pro Zinc a few weeks ago with our vet who wasn't a huge home monitoring fan. Got involved with an internal medicine specialist about a week ago when we were referred for an ultrasound (result: fatty liver). She's supportive of home testing so we ordered the meter and did our first home curve using Pro Zinc yesterday. After a chat with her yesterday we all decided to switch to Lantus. The protocol she gave us last night was from University of Queensland "Use of Glargine (Lantus) and Detemir (Levemir) in Diabetic Cats with insulin dosage adjustments based on monitoring blood glucose concentration once a week (preferred) or every two weeks with serial measurements every 3-4 hours over 12 hours", which calls for "Begin with 0.5 U/kg if blood glucose (>360 mg/dL (> 20 mmol/L)". http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link3.pdf
So, we started with 2 units this AM. AMPS was 497 and +3 was 337. As this was occurring I was doing research on this forum and elsewhere and read up more on the "tight" protocol used here, described by the University as "Use of Glargine (Lantus) and Detemir (Levemir) in Diabetic Cats with insulin dosage adjustments based on home monitoring of blood glucose concentration at least 3 times a day." which, as you all know calls for starting with .25 U/kg. I emailed with the vet this AM (post AM shot of 2 units) and she's completely on board with the protocol if we want to follow it - this is important to us, particularly since Meatball is boarding with them this Tuesday to the following Monday while we travel.
So, back to my question - since I started with 2 units this AM, any recommendations on reasonably moving over to the tight protocol and on tonight's dosage. Will post +6 and +9 later. Thanks for your knowledge!
New diabetic; started Pro Zinc a few weeks ago with our vet who wasn't a huge home monitoring fan. Got involved with an internal medicine specialist about a week ago when we were referred for an ultrasound (result: fatty liver). She's supportive of home testing so we ordered the meter and did our first home curve using Pro Zinc yesterday. After a chat with her yesterday we all decided to switch to Lantus. The protocol she gave us last night was from University of Queensland "Use of Glargine (Lantus) and Detemir (Levemir) in Diabetic Cats with insulin dosage adjustments based on monitoring blood glucose concentration once a week (preferred) or every two weeks with serial measurements every 3-4 hours over 12 hours", which calls for "Begin with 0.5 U/kg if blood glucose (>360 mg/dL (> 20 mmol/L)". http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link3.pdf
So, we started with 2 units this AM. AMPS was 497 and +3 was 337. As this was occurring I was doing research on this forum and elsewhere and read up more on the "tight" protocol used here, described by the University as "Use of Glargine (Lantus) and Detemir (Levemir) in Diabetic Cats with insulin dosage adjustments based on home monitoring of blood glucose concentration at least 3 times a day." which, as you all know calls for starting with .25 U/kg. I emailed with the vet this AM (post AM shot of 2 units) and she's completely on board with the protocol if we want to follow it - this is important to us, particularly since Meatball is boarding with them this Tuesday to the following Monday while we travel.
So, back to my question - since I started with 2 units this AM, any recommendations on reasonably moving over to the tight protocol and on tonight's dosage. Will post +6 and +9 later. Thanks for your knowledge!