7/14 Meatball AMPS 435. +4 415 @ 2 units

Status
Not open for further replies.

meatball_mommy

Member Since 2013
Meatball still liking his higher numbers. After some discussion we're sticking with the 2 units. Per the protocol, considering upping to 2.5 units tonight based on how the day goes. Vet will start phase 2 on Tues so encouraged by that. Think all the info, discussion, learning, and testing has made is a little punchy at this point so hanging in there!
 
You're absolutely right. There is a huge volume of information to assimilate. It's enough to make anyone's head spin. The good news though, is that it does become second nature.

I do think Libby provided some good information. She's very experienced with Lantus and provided a valuable perspective.

Just a housekeeping note (and a quirk on this Board). We link our daily threads (we call them "condos") together. This makes it much easier to go back and find information should you or someone else need to look for a point that was made or just wants to follow the history of your kitty. Here's your link to your previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99863&p=1066805#p1066805.

In order to link the threads, you need to open the previous condo and copy the location information from the top of your browser. In your new day's thread, you want to click on the URL button at the top of the text box and it will insert a code looks like . In between the two sets of brackets, you paste the location from the previous day's condo: location from yesterday's condo. That will give you the link I included above.

If you want it fancier, you include the URL info this way: Meatball's 7/13 condo. You can name the link anything you want. It will look like: Meatball's 7/13 condo.
 
it's your decision, you hold the syringe.

Please be sure your Hypo Toolkit is stocked, and read through these two links, especially before you increase the dose by 0.5u.

*** IMPORTANT DOCUMENTS ***
Print these out and keep them handy:
SYMPTOMS OF & HOW TO TREAT HYPOGLYCEMIA - what to do if your kitty experiences a hypoglycemic event
Jojo's HYPO TOOLBOX - what to have on hand in case of an emergency

The protocol does allow for increasing by 0.5u after 24-48 hours if you are seeing only high, flat numbers. However, you are missing the important safety net that is built into the protocol in the form of an appropriate starting dose. Personally, I do not feel that you have the data to support that decision, and I am usually a fan of being aggressive! As I said, though, it is your call.
 
Thanks, all! Really appreciate the advice, including the rules of the road. I'll start using my "condo" links tomorrow! Re: dosing, definitely hearing you. Think we'll stick with our 2 units since we started high and see how things go into Tuesday. Thanks again - reading the posts and replies has me feeling encouraged, so I'll take that (with a glass of wine :-D ). Someone had recommended the first day I was on to do the hypo kit so I'm all prepped, printed the info in case we panic!, and went over everything with my boyfriend last night so we're on the same page. Great advice.

Today's #s
AMPS 435
+4 415
+6 352
+9 376

Will be checking PMPS here shortly. We also tried a new food regimen of, rather than food every 12 hrs, we're doing an extra can of fancy feast at +6 during the day. We'll see how that plays out. Thanks again, Jo
 
Hey Jo! Bob has his paws crossed for Meatball's new dose to kick in and get some good numbers. Our new dose (or our new food) is causing Bob to surf in the pink - yuck. It took me a while to start to assimilate all this info. It overwhelmed me so bad at first, I stopped posting on the board, but I would not recommend that. Just know you don't have to know everything right away. I'm still learning and it's been 3 months. We'll be keeping an eye on Meatball! :-D
 
Thanks, Bob & Dara! Yeah, with his numbers (literally since diagnosis) I have itchy syringe fingers. Just dying to get his numbers down. I had a couple low ones when I first started monitoring, but in retrospect, I think I likely dilluted the samples since I was using a warm wet cotton ball prior (I later read about putting a warm washcloth in a baggie or using the rice sock - now a little massage seems to work fine). Can't be entirely sure, but seems to me we haven't had much time (if any) under 300 :( I'm just anxious to see some lower numbers, but contending with all I'm learning to ensure I don't let him plummet into a dangerous situation. Just want the little man to get better (or at least regulated)!
 
PMPS 286 - finally a (most reliable since I started testing) number in the 200s. Sticking with 2 units but will be monitoring closely throughout the night.
 
This is where I usually ask people what their favorite color is. So I can send them a pair of patience pants from my extensive lending closet. ;-)

What is your favorite color?

It took Meatball time to become diabetic, it will take time to get his BG numbers under control. Remember, this is a marathon, not a sprint. Patience little grasshopper.
 
Hi Jo!!

I've got a pair of those patience pants too if you'd like to borrow them. This sugardance can be frustrating!! China's numbers just never seem to make sense...or they make perfect sense for a short time and then I get thrown a curveball and I was like you...first thing I wanted to do was increase the dose. Of course I didn't, as I was relying on this wonderful bunch of people who have much more experience in this than I do and did what they recommended. The same dose that she'd be at 400's one day would make her in the 50's another. It's enough to make you tear your hair out at times!

My best advice to you is to let the people here advise you and try to be patient. The members here know as much or more than most vets because they live and breathe diabetes every day

Good luck to you and Meatball!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top