7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +10=289

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99746

morning all

I have my first blue PS number! I have not shot. I know I should but I am too new at this with very little low PS values to have confidence. I have checked Tom's BG numbers every hour since...waiting for him to rise. He hasn't. He hasn't ate either.

AMPS 98

+13=82
+14=83


so here is the question: I have no problem shooting him at anytime. I will be home all day and I can give his PMS 12 hrs from anytime. do I just keep checking and when I see a rise I shoot normal dose? do I wait even longer for a significant rise? does shooting 3 or 4 hours late really mess up his system and it is even better to just skip? I don't think that makes sense but just asking

thanks all
EDIT: plus 3 after what should be AMS 117. Just threw up largest hair ball ever!! he did not have much of an appetite last eve....much be the reason behind that....as well as the low PS value. I just gave in and offered favorite LC food....just a few bites and walked away. will check BG again in 30 mins. and try another type of food.
~kelly
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 98, 82, 83 how long to delay?

If you were to shoot now, your PM shot would be in 12 hours. You can shift your time back either by shooting 15 min early at each shot time or 30 min. once a day unless you see a bounce into pinks.

If you're OK with being this far off schedule, have strips and HC food, and will be able to monitor closely, then you're OK to shoot. If you don't have supplies or won't be able to test, then you will need to skip. You don't have much data to know how Tomcat will respond to shooting lower numbers so it's important that you can be around to keep an eye on your kitty's numbers.
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162

Thanks Gabby and Sienne!

I got a 162.... 4 hours after normal shot time. I shot normal amount. no problem with the 12 hrs. from now time.....

is a plus 2 good enough to start with the testing?

FOR THE FUTURE: what did I do right/wrong this AM? I realize the further I go, the more data I will have and it will become much easier and easier to shoot almost any number....but for now......

should I have shot a lot earlier? I shouldn't shoot a dropping value right? I most likely should have shot the 117, yes?
AMPS = 98
+13 = 82
+14 =83
+15 =117

You can shift your time back either by shooting 15 min early at each shot time or 30 min. once a day unless you see a bounce into pinks
.

he does always bounce into pink....if that is the case ....by how much time can I move the time earlier?

thanks again for the help!!

~kelly
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162

You did fine! Most people's schedules can't accommodate shooting this late. If you'd had more data and saw your kitty "surfing," it would have been fine to shoot (if you were going to be there to monitor). Either seeing those kind of flat numbers at the end of the cycle or rising numbers means that it's generally OK to shoot. It helps to remember that you have an hour or two until the dose kicks in and you will be feeding so food will help to raise numbers a little.

When you shoot low, you want to get a +1 and +2. Since you saw a good sized rise, I think a +2 should be fine.

The other thing we usually suggest is that when you're stalling, to test every 30 min. That way, hopefully, you won't be too far off schedule.

You may want to keep Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shots handy for reference.
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162

okay...great link!!

one more thing:

You can shift your time back either by shooting 15 min early at each shot time or 30 min. once a day unless you see a bounce into pinks

he always bounces into pinks....if this is indeed the case today (and it will after this fiasco!) by how much time can I shift the time back?

thanks!

edit: well, darn it! at +1.5=295. I almost have him in the pinks already! I get so mad at myself ...as I sabotage my momentum every time! I finally get a nice blue PS number....and instead of shooting and keeping the insulin level, staying on top of it....I just can't pull the trigger!! I hope i am happy...as his values will climb all day! his 295 value is not food influenced either, as he has post-hairball gut!

EDIT: well, darn it! at +4=448! wow. haven't seen that since my last fur-shot! wonder if I can shoot early given this cycle?

oh well, something to remember next time. right? oh of course not. I will most likely do it again and again..... :roll:
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 YUCK!

Once you have amassed some data, you will be able to shoot low to stay low. Just not yet.
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 YUCK!

oh good! that makes me feel so much better ---I felt like such a failure! I keep telling drinking fool Tomcat I am sorry I dropped the ball this morning!!

poor guy
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 YUCK!

What are you using as your "no shot" number?
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 YUCK!

can I, given that Tom is SKYHIGH, give his PM SHOT earlier than I should give it? I am basing this on what Sienne said:



You can shift your time back either by shooting 15 min early at each shot time or 30 min. once a day unless you see a bounce into pinks


this isn't for my convenience, I don't care when I shoot, I just feel so badly for RED tomcat (been a while since the poor dude has been red).
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 can i shoot an early red PM

I don't know what the answer to that one is. Maybe PM Sienne and ask her to post her explanation here?
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 can i shoot an early red PM

okay...we will scratch that question for tonight...I just tested +10 and he is 289. so at least there has been movement today. I am more than comfortable shooting at a normal 12 hr. post shot time

thanks all

kelly
 
Re: 7/15 Tomcat AMPS 162, +4=448 can i shoot an early red PM

I see he's come down quite a bit. I think I would test again at +11 or maybe even +10.75 and post to ask for advice.
If he is dropping rapidly, then depending upon his number you may or may not want to shoot an hour early. If he is dropping rapidly, then depending upon his +11, you may only want to shoot 30 minutes early. sorry for being repetitive..
 
no such thing as being repetitive to a newbie!!!

yes, I agree that since he did have movement I will just shoot the recommended 30 or 15 mins early ...I feel good and comfortable just waiting until the "correct" time....I was just super concerned he would be BLACK by the time 12 hrs. passed by :shock:

thanks again all

kelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top