01/04 - Dolly - AMBG 100 - 107@+2 - 112@+3 - PMPS 226 - 246@+2 - 225@+3

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-111-4-5-88-5-5-pmps-117-101-2-98-3-5.240947/
Dolly was acting like she was on her deathbed (DQ:p) last night until around +3.5 then started zooming throughout the house, playing with her foil toys while making her hunting grunt sounds. She ate, was feeling good. :cat: I fell asleep on the couch. Left out food which she ate some, came out to the living room at @+8 (3am) gave her some food, ate like she was starving. I need to get her food routine straightened out. :arghh: Pre diabetes she free fed dry and got wet am and pm. Post diabetes (this time) at some point I went from feeding twice a day + Dr Elsey's during the night to a snack in the middle of the day. This evolved to no Dr Elsey's and having wet food out most of the day and night. This has to change - I need advice, she doesn't want to eat at AMPS or PMPS. :stop: During the night is hard on me because I have to pull food that could go bad and sometimes give more depending on the time. Due to her sinus issues a timed feeder will not work - she can't smell, won't eat cold food. Also she is a grazer, takes her forever to finish meal. :rolleyes:
 
Good morning Adrienne! I divide up and give Ruby her meals during shot time, +2, +4, +6 (or +3, +4, +5), and I usually sit and watch her eat all of it because I find the sight and sound of her eating to be very comforting. :cat: I test her and then give her the meals so she associates the pokes with something nice. Spacing out the meals has allowed me to feed her smaller portions of MC or HC when she's low. She used to eat just twice a day, with dry food left out for her to graze on and I was worried about changing the routine but she fell into the rhythm with no trouble. I find Ruby really likes consistency, so maybe this will be true for Dolly.
 
I forgot to mention Dolly is a social eater, I sit with her for all her meals or she won’t eat. Auto feeder would be great but due to her sinusitis she can’t smell and won’t eat cold food. It’s all very frustrating. Because she won’t eat a whole meal at once, takes her hours, I am always giving fresh after a couple hours. Usually, if I have to try different flavors I lose amount she has eaten, some always left in her dish.
GREAT AMPS. Let's see what she has in store for us today.

How about an autofeeder?
Thank you. +2 this morning?
 
Good morning Adrienne! I divide up and give Ruby her meals during shot time, +2, +4, +6 (or +3, +4, +5), and I usually sit and watch her eat all of it because I find the sight and sound of her eating to be very comforting. :cat: I test her and then give her the meals so she associates the pokes with something nice. Spacing out the meals has allowed me to feed her smaller portions of MC or HC when she's low. She used to eat just twice a day, with dry food left out for her to graze on and I was worried about changing the routine but she fell into the rhythm with no trouble. I find Ruby really likes consistency, so maybe this will be true for Dolly.
Good morning Adrienne! I divide up and give Ruby her meals during shot time, +2, +4, +6 (or +3, +4, +5), and I usually sit and watch her eat all of it because I find the sight and sound of her eating to be very comforting. :cat: I test her and then give her the meals so she associates the pokes with something nice. Spacing out the meals has allowed me to feed her smaller portions of MC or HC when she's low. She used to eat just twice a day, with dry food left out for her to graze on and I was worried about changing the routine but she fell into the rhythm with no trouble. I find Ruby really likes consistency, so maybe this will be true for Dolly.
I forgot to mention Dolly is a social eater, I sit with her for all her meals or she won’t eat. Auto feeder would be great but due to her sinusitis she can’t smell and won’t eat cold food. It’s all very frustrating. Because she won’t eat a whole meal at once, takes her hours, I am always giving fresh after a couple hours. Usually, if I have to try different flavors I lose amount she has eaten, some always left in her dish. She doesn’t want to eat at test and injection time, this is a new thing. I guess I need to pull food earlier in the afternoon. She also does this at AMPS when most of the time she has not had anything for hours. She will eat about an hour after her shot. :banghead::banghead:
 
Last edited:
I forgot to mention Dolly is a social eater, I sit with her for all her meals or she won’t eat. Auto feeder would be great but due to her sinusitis she can’t smell and won’t eat cold food. It’s all very frustrating. Because she won’t eat a whole meal at once, takes her hours, I am always giving fresh after a couple hours. Usually, if I have to try different flavors I lose amount she has eaten, some always left in her dish. She doesn’t want to eat at test and injection time. I guess I need to pull food earlier in the afternoon. She also does this at AMPS when most of the time she has not had anything for hours. She will eat about an hour after her shot. :banghead::banghead:
Thank you Katherine for your input. What do you do during the middle of the night?
 
What are the odds of two fur shots in one day. It probably didn't happen but when I took her in the bathroom for her steam bath/shower I could still or again smell Insulin. What are the odds? Is it normal, is it common for a cat to be high after missing an insulin dose? I am so frustrated. She's barely eating. She ate okay today but I guess I have to start pulling her food earlier - usually 3 hours pre shot.
 
Last edited:
Yes, it is normal for numbers to be higher after a skipped or a fur shot. Numbers will also be a tad higher for the next few cycles till the depot re-adjusts. Don't beat yourself up. You and Dally can enjoy the break from testing and cuddle instead of poke! :-)

She will probably be hungrier if she is higher. Bandit is.

Goodnight! :-)
 
Back
Top