01/06 Pickels AMPS 231

Alright. I think I've done this right - first post in the LL&B club.

Today is the first day where both me and co-cg are at work and she's alone for several hours after the AM shot. Definitely nervous but the new indoor cameras help me check to make sure she's okay (she's sleeping rn).

Tomorrow marks day 7 of insulin shots. So far so good. I just got a notification that the food I ordered for her to try arrived so fingers crossed they sit well with her GI system and we can start transitioning the diet next week. We're getting used to the routine of doing the PS ear prick. I feel bad doing it since I was bruising her ear a bit the first few tries. I am getting better at doing it in one or two pricks but still not perfect. Hopefully the Libre 3 goes on no problem this Friday so we can get some continuous readings without having to do the pricks.

On the plus side she has immediate behavioral improvement! She is up and interacting - she even was able to jump up on the sofa to sleep on my lap for a movie last night. Over Christmas week she was only getting up for water, food, and litter in that order then back to her bed.

Sorry if I mucked up any of the format. I'm still learning how to use the forums. Should I be posting even when all is well? Or just on days when I have a question?
 
Your first post here is great. Welcome!
Here is your first post . We link the last post for continuity. It helps those helping to help you.
A new day means a new post. You don't have to post daily, but it is encouraged in the beginning to help get a handle on managing FD.
Since you're following SLGS, will you be able to run a curve? That means testing every 2 hours for 12 hours or testing every 3 hours over 18 hours.

Were you able to get any tests last night after that 184 PMPS?

Love the WCR (whole cat report) that she's behaving more like her pre FD self. Cats are souch more than their numbers.
 
Your first post here is great. Welcome!
Here is your first post . We link the last post for continuity. It helps those helping to help you.
A new day means a new post. You don't have to post daily, but it is encouraged in the beginning to help get a handle on managing FD.
Since you're following SLGS, will you be able to run a curve? That means testing every 2 hours for 12 hours or testing every 3 hours over 18 hours.

Were you able to get any tests last night after that 184 PMPS?

Love the WCR (whole cat report) that she's behaving more like her pre FD self. Cats are souch more than their numbers.
I haven't done a curve yet. I feel bad pricking her ear so much.
It takes like 2-3 tries to get enough blood sometimes and I don't want to over do it. I'm hoping that this weekend the libre 3 will be able to give us a solid picture of how she's doing. My vet wanted a curve day sometime between 10-14 which is why we're waiting to put the libre on then. I decided to do spot checks independently until then - we were given ketodiastix to use until the libre 3.

Usually she's an extremely combative patient at the vet so I have a feeling no matter how much I tell them she'll let me do most anything to her at home they didn't want to stress her out more than we had to. I'll be happy to show a video of her purring on my lap for a full check.

Her PMPS is 199 today so I'll try and make sure to get a +3 or even +4 if I can tonight. Good call - I didn't think about what it could be trending to with a lower PS level.
 
takes like 2-3 tries to get enough blood
This gets easier as their ears learn to bleed

Curves are a lot less stressful at home. My Vet thought the same thing about my Cleo. She's labeled as Spicy there :rolleyes:. She's not a lap cat at home, but she usually lets me rest and she sleeps on me every night. I get it :bighug:
PMPS is 199 today so I'll try and make sure to get a +3 or even +4 if I can tonight. Good call - I didn't think about what it could be trending to with a lower PS level.
Perfect and a great habit to get into because they like to go lower at night. Cats :banghead:
 
Back
Top