01/07 Webber AMPS 157-- PM No Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/07 Webber AMPS 157 & PMPS couldn't get one!

I use a 31 gauge lancet and I freehand. I found the lancet device that came with my meter awkward and I feel like I have more control when I hold the lancet.
 
Ronnie-

I am thinking tomorrow evening. I will try to get a BG level in the morning, but again won't be home to monitor since it would be my first time. Since his pre-insulin levels were <300 on diet alone, do you think he can wait another day or so to start from scratch?
 
Paige: That is a higher then normal dosage then is recommended here. Will you be around all weekend? Perhaps it would be best to start when you will be home. I'm sure someone (long timer) will be along to review this with you. Welcome to LL. YOu are in good hands here.
 
I really enjoyed reading your blog about Webber. My kitty, Moses, was just recently diagnosed in December 2009. And we both have chocokitty sugardaddies.

I'm glad I read your story and that's awesome we're at similar points. Tonight was Moses' first insulin night.

Can't wait to hear more about Webber!
 
Hi Paige and Webber - welcome to LL - looks like you got both feet wet quickly!

Regarding testing - I use 30 gauge lancets and use device ( DH tried free handing and made a small tear in ear....). Don't forget to warm the ear - it can help dilate that little vessel and try to make testing time a reward time for cat. Most of us give treats when the cats get tested. Tuscany especially likes the chicken liv a little - the freeze dried chicken pieces. Many of the cats come for their testing on their own just cause they know they get fed and treated.

There have been days were it has taken me 6 pokes to get enough blood. I can have spells where I'll get enough blood on every poke for months and then have a day where it takes me numerous pokes. It can be frustrating for the cat and the bean (love the times where you poke - have a great bead of blood and the cat shakes it all over.....)

I agree with the ideas that have been exchanged here - needing to start with the lower twice a day dose, the food changes that you have done, the home testing... I think you and Webber will be fine with a day delay if that makes you more comfortable. It is reassuring to be home to monitor. I can remember quite a few days where I raced home (35 minute drive) to test the cat midcycle and raced back to work during my lunch - or begged my one friend who I taught to test to run over and get a midcycle test. You'll be a pro at this in no time!
 
Just gonna say hi there, and join the chorus of people telling you about 33 gauge. As you've probably learned, the bigger the number, the smaller the tip..which is fine for insulin, but spectacularly dismal when it comes to testing. I use 28 or 29 gauge.. really recommend you find a larger tip (smaller number).

I think you are ok to quit the testing tonight and either resume in the morning or tomorrow night. Let all of you calm down for a bit. However, you really need to get shooting soon if he's gonna remain in diabetic numbers though, or he could get quite sick. Try to aim for the morning if you can and if he's at an odd number again, be sure to post here. :)

(((hugs))) sweet dreams!
 
Hi Erica! I think it is neat to have a few of us starting this together. Nicole and Baby started today at home and she was DX around the same time too.

Darn - I thought I was going good getting the small lancets. They are cheap enough though, I will get some larger ones (28 or 30) tomorrow. Thank you all for that litte tidbit. I have already had him shake his little head back and forth and losing a good drop. grumpy_cat

If I can stay calm I will attempt to get a reading in the morning to make sure he is not too high. I work about 11 miles from home and have already considered coming home during my lunch break to test if need be. Otherwise we will start when everyone is home.

See you in the morning.

PS - please pray for Nicole and Baby that her numbers start to rise quickly. She has been in my thoughts all day. :cry:
 
Paige, how sweet of you..even during all this..still thinking of you & Webber too... I will still be online when you get up in the am.... xoxoxoxo
Still praying & testing Baby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top