? 01/11/2021 Sugar PMPS: 165. Shoot or not?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Claude, Jan 11, 2021.

  1. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If following TR you would shoot provided you have plenty of test strips, mid carb and high carb food and honey or karo syrup and can monitor as long as needed. You might need to monitor until +7 or later. That bg is not low but I see it is low for you.
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    BTW, when not sure whether to shoot, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the bg is on the way back up. I know you already fed this time.
     
    Claude likes this.
  4. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Excuse my ignorance but I'm still not 100% sure what regulation it the best option for me and Sugar. I can monitor him closely for now, but in a few weeks I won't be able to (8 hour job). Do you think it's still worth it to give TR a shot?

    If I decide not to got for TR given that it might not work for me in the long run, should I lower the dose in cases like this?
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Even with SLGS you would not need to lower the dose. If you had to leave you would shoot a token dose, maybe 25% for that cycle. Once you know how he will do you would shoot if over 150. There is a whole sticky on doing TR and working full time.
     
  6. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Thank you.

    I just shot and will keep monitoring.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  8. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you can monitor him closely for the next few weeks, I would recommend that you follow TR till then. It is the fastest way to get him to his optimal dose. We can always reassess once you get to the point when you need to go back to work.

    Here's the sticky that Elise was talking about:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Have you got any tests after the PMPS? I don't see anything on the SS.
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    @Bandit's Mom Thanks for supplying the link. I meant to do that.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  12. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    I think that's a great idea! Thanks for the link.

    I haven't updated his SS yet since I use a notebook, but Sugar is +1 209 +2.5 176 +3 179 +5 194. Will keep monitoring.
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can stop and go to bed! He seems to be headed higher :)
     
  14. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Good to hear. Thank you!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    In future, post the test numbers on the thread and we'll to you whether to get more tests or call it a day/night!
     
  16. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Will do. Thanks.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Egad! Just realizing how many typos there were on my last post! Was typing on my phone.
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    For the next few weeks it would be great if you would use the spreadsheet. It really helps us. I would even ask you to fill in the numbers for the previous two weeks.
     

Share This Page