01/12 Luna AMPS 147 +5 106; +8 52; +8.5 89; +10 105; +11 158

Michaela & Luna

Member Since 2021
Hi,

We are on Day 5 of 0.5 units of Lantus twice daily. This afternoon she was being a total food gremlin and I suspected something was up - she was at BG 58 on an alphatrak. Gave her some medium carb kibble and a little fancy feast, called the vet, and monitored her and she went back up.

Her shot time is in 1 hour and the vet says with a reading of 158 1 hour pre-shot we should skip tonight's dose. Can I have a second opinion on that? When we have completely skipped doses she goes sky high by the next shot time. Should we give her just a tiny bit, like less than .25?

Thanks for all your expertise! It's been tricky to dial in Luna's proper dosing.

(note if you look at the spreadsheet, yesterday morning I gave the shot instead of my husband and I think I might have messed up, looking at her numbers. Seems to be things are less regulated when I give the shots so we just try to have him do it as much as possible and I'm watching and learning to get better at it)
 
52 on an AlphaTrak is a reduction, so you would go down to 0.25U tonight as your new dose (yes I would shoot full dose, you have the data).

I strongly recommend a before bed test at PM +2 or +3. Shes seeing low numbers, so it might not have anything to do with you giving the shots - it may very well be she's seeing those low numbers overnight (or even lower, cats often go lower at night) and getting a bounce.

Also, when you have a question it's best to use the Thread Tools and put the ? prefix so we look at yours first. When I scan the board and prioritize, I look for emergencies, then the "?", then cats seeing low (lime) numbers, then the rest.
 
Sorry I should have explained better - the +2/+3 is usually a really good indicator of how a cycle is going to go...and if you should set an alarm to get up later just to make sure she's safe
 
OK will do! I was leaning towards doing that anyways to calm my anxiety so it's good to get some confirmation. Thanks for your guidance!
 
Your new dose is .25. When you see a low blue I’d test in 1 or 2 hours rather then 3. That way you can prevent drops under 68 by feeding a little higher carbs.
 
Back
Top