01/17 Bubba AMPS 427; +7 401

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-11-bubba-dosing-advice-hold-or-increase.272904/

Increased Bubba from 1.5U to 1.75U lantus on Jan 15.

No pinks or yellows yet... (at least none checked)... but the overall daily average seems to be decreasing and staying steady (albeit staying steady at higher #s).

Fingers toes and eyes crossed we start seeing some yellows and pinks soon! Interesting that shortly after re-starting on lantus 1.5U we started to see pinks, then the "red # wave" appeared and hasn't really gone away.
 
I hope Bubba starts seeing healthier numbers soon! He reminds me of my beloved Sylvester kitty. Very handsome!

thank you, me too! wish I stayed on lantus back in November before switching back to caninsulin (based on advice of my vet).

my previous cat was named Sylvester as well!!! :bighug: rest his soul :rb_icon:
 
On this dose, I wouldn't hold it as long as you did the 1.5 units. With SLGS, you can increase after 7 days, if nadirs are not between 90 and 149.

Out of curiosity, which make of beef, bison, and kangaroo are you feeding? My Neko was also on raw.
 
On this dose, I wouldn't hold it as long as you did the 1.5 units. With SLGS, you can increase after 7 days, if nadirs are not between 90 and 149.

Out of curiosity, which make of beef, bison, and kangaroo are you feeding? My Neko was also on raw.

Red Dog Blue Kat... love the quality and they're local
 
Yes, that was a brand I fed Neko too. I knew the person doing the purchasing there, and her now hubby did the quality control. Neko loved the kangaroo.
 
Yes, that was a brand I fed Neko too. I knew the person doing the purchasing there, and her now hubby did the quality control. Neko loved the kangaroo.

Oh that's neat! I recently introduced kangaroo to Bubba and he absolutely loves it. I toured their production facility a few years ago and it's quite impressive. He also gets RDBK dehydrated salmon crumbled on top of his meat as a treat
 
On this dose, I wouldn't hold it as long as you did the 1.5 units. With SLGS, you can increase after 7 days, if nadirs are not between 90 and 149.

Out of curiosity, which make of beef, bison, and kangaroo are you feeding? My Neko was also on raw.

yeah, I will see how 1.75U does for the next 7 days and adjust as necessary!
 
If you can get one mid-cycle test in addition to the preshot test (in every cycle), you might want to think about following TR. At least till you get him to a good dose.
With TR you can increase every 3-5 days depending on nadirs. You don't want to wait a week to increase when he is in such high numbers. You can always switch back to SLGS once you start seeing better numbers - if getting tests is an issue.

I see we already discussed this in your previous thread! :-)
 
If you can get one mid-cycle test in addition to the preshot test (in every cycle), you might want to think about following TR. At least till you get him to a good dose.
With TR you can increase every 3-5 days depending on nadirs. You don't want to wait a week to increase when he is in such high numbers. You can always switch back to SLGS once you start seeing better numbers - if getting tests is an issue.

I see we already discussed this in your previous thread! :)

thank you!!! yes we did. gonna have to wait till I have more days off... works been rough with long days and I got norovirus from work this weekend too :(

to clarify "mid cycle test" means middle of the day right?
 
to clarify "mid cycle test" means middle of the day right?
not necessary. it means any time between shots. even as early as 2 hours after. the idea is to see if you can figure out how low the dose is taking him. just preshots or tests in some cycles do not give you the full picture. he could have gone lower in once cycle and could be bouncing for 6 cycles after.
 
Back
Top