01/22 Bubba AMPS ?; +3 319; +9 351; +11 356; PMPS 401; +3 374

Can you get a test before you leave for work? How much before amps is that?
I always get tests before I leave for work. No AM test the past 2 days bc I worked nights. 3 hrs after his shot this morning , it was 319 / 17.7 mmol/L; obtained when I got home.
Gonna show family member how to home test ; ear poke. They’re diabetic themselves so are familiar with the process but with fingers not cats LOL

I’m a shift worker so trying to get a routine established is like chasing moving goal posts with a constantly changing schedule
 
Can you get another test during today's cycle. Would love to see if there's a colour change on the spreadsheet. He's so close! Tight Regulation also requires a second test each cycle (as well as those preshots), so we won't be able to increase as fast without data.

I know it can be tricky to get another family member to test. Took forever for my hubby to start testing - then he started commenting on my technique. :rolleyes: Hopefully family member is someone who likes Bubba and vice versa.
 
+9 351…. aka 19.5mmol/L.

Staying steady in the teens today. Remaining cautiously optimistic….
Will see what the #s are tonight to decide whether to remain on 2.5U or increase to 2.75U / 3U… since he had fur shot on first day of 2.5U, was thinking of staying on that dose one more day…
 
When you do a fur shot (it happens), could you put something like FS beside the dose. It helps us when helping you figure out when to increase.

You don't have enough data to increase tomorrow, and the fur shot resets the dose count. Reminder: Counting Cycles

yes I put the fur shot in the remarks section!

will stay on 2.5U tmrw then
Thanks for that counting cycles link. What does “BCS dose” mean?
 
Last edited:
BGs increased by 2.5mmol/L approx 1hr after dinner ... wonder if the canned pumpkin (constipation prophylactic) raised his sugars so much? he's on raw diet.
 
It's natural for the BG to go up after shot time. The insulin from the previous shot given this morning is still wearing off, and the shot you just gave doesn't start taking effect (onset) until typically 2-3 hours after the shot.

yes I put the fur shot in the remarks section!
Comments in the Remarks often get missed when looking at the spreadsheet data values. It's just easier for us if also put in the U column. So for 1/21, it would be something like 2.5 FS. I would sometimes put PFS for partial fur shot.
 
If I remember correctly, it was more like a skinny dose, because there was a drop that popped out when you removed the needle, right? That is just like a tiny under-dosing vs. a fur shot. But I will let others opine. I just wonder if that warrants a reset though.
 
If I remember correctly, it was more like a skinny dose, because there was a drop that popped out when you removed the needle, right? That is just like a tiny under-dosing vs. a fur shot. But I will let others opine. I just wonder if that warrants a reset though.

I think I used the wrong terminology! Yeah a droplet came out in the AM and in the PM on Saturday/Jan 21.
 
I think I used the wrong terminology! Yeah a droplet came out in the AM and in the PM on Saturday/Jan 21.
It took me awhile to get the hang of all the terminology. If you do a skinny dose you can put a small “s” next to the dose for that cycle. And sometime we aren’t sure if we gave a fur shot or not, so we put PFS next to the dose for probable/possible fur shot.
 
The reduced shot, whatever you call it, happened on cycle 1. Not a big deal doing starting the cycle count 1 cycle later. A bigger deal is the lack of data during the night.
 
The reduced shot, whatever you call it, happened on cycle 1. Not a big deal doing starting the cycle count 1 cycle later. A bigger deal is the lack of data during the night.

Hi Wendy, thanks for your concern. please see post #3 above, re: lack of data last 2 nights.

my dad is diabetic and LOVES Bubba so my dad home testing Bubba should work well :) :)
 
Last edited:
I get that you couldn't test while you are doing night shift. However, TR by itself is already a more aggressive dosing protocol. We don't want to speed up increases if we don't have the data we need. This is for Bubba's safety. A couple extra cycles with data will go a long way to giving us an idea how low this dose is taking him.
 
I get that you couldn't test while you are doing night shift. However, TR by itself is already a more aggressive dosing protocol. We don't want to speed up increases if we don't have the data we need. This is for Bubba's safety. A couple extra cycles with data will go a long way to giving us an idea how low this dose is taking him.
thanks Wendy :)

because he's been seeing some good #s today (well, good for Bubba), I do plan on staying at 2.5U for at least 1-2 more days (2-4 cycles).
 
Back
Top