01/25 Shurshishka - Question on Dosing for SLGS

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lizzee, Jan 25, 2021.

1. Lizzee

Lizzee Member

Currently Shurshishka is on .6u of insulin. I decreased it slightly from .75 after her PMPS numbers were too low for my liking. Tonight her nadir showed up as 83 at +6. I am currently awake and testing every 30 mins. Should I decrease the dose to .25 for an even number or .35?

2. JaxBenji

JaxBenji Well-Known Member

Hi! On SLGS, you take 0.25u reductions immediately, hold the dose for a week, unless kitty drops below 90. So since you are on 0.6 then the new dose would be 0.35. I'm not experienced enough to say to try 0.25 so can just pass along the dosing method info.

How are you measuring your dose now? Do you use calipers? There's good info on them here. I use MyLight app on my iPad instead of a Lightbox (and it was free :)).

You could also edit your title to indicate you have a question - At the top of your thread, click on thread tools > edit title. Add the date, cat name, and your question (e.g., "01/25 Furbaby - Question on Dosing for SLGS"). You can also pick the ? from the drop down on the left. Once your question is answered, you edit your title again and remove the ? from the drop-down and put your BG readings up instead of the question. Hope that helps get more eyes here :bighug:

3. Lizzee

Lizzee Member

4. JaxBenji

JaxBenji Well-Known Member

my needle never touches a surface since it's in the middle of the syringe. You could keep the top on while you measure then take the top off to adjust the dose then put the top back on.

The fine dosing sticky is great too - calipers are popular as the lines on syringes can be wonky. Another popular thing to do is to create a "master" syringe with the dose in it using colored water or juice and then always measure to that one (so that you are always giving a consistent dose).

5. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member