02/11 MISSY PMPS 194, +1.5 97, +2 74, +3 77, +4 97

At +11 Missy is 191. I expect she will likely drop tonight...and its usually fast.
In anticipation of her PMPS meal should I feed as normal just LC?

I will be testing at PMPS and will post. Just wanted to give it a bit of a heads up so I am not in a rush and late shooting.
Let me know what you think... thank you :)
 
Do we want her to dip below 50? Is this the ultimate goal? Why would we let her go so low?

We try and keep her at a good dose as long as we can. If she wants to earn the reduction she will dip below 50. There is no point in carbing her up and preventing it. When she is done with a dose she is done.
Don't worry. All of us here have had kitties go below 50 and earn reductions. Take a look at any spreadsheet where cats have gone green.
 
We try and keep her at a good dose as long as we can. If she wants to earn the reduction she will dip below 50. There is no point in carbing her up and preventing it. When she is done with a dose she is done.
Don't worry. All of us here have had kitties go below 50 and earn reductions. Take a look at any spreadsheet where cats have gone green.
Yes I have seen it on lots of SS. Im not super worried... a little nervous. Test time in one minute... stand by! :nailbiting:
 
You are testing enough and will catch a drop below 50 almost as soon as it happens and take corrective action. :)
Just so I have some knowledge with this because it's all new to me.... if I see a drop 50 or below what do I do? How soon do I have to act and what if I can't get a hold of you for a few minutes? Its windy here where I live and we sometimes have power outages. I am prepared for that. But I won't have internet. I have my cell phone and I should still be able to communicate with you but if for some reason I can't what would I do?

TEST time is in 4 minutes... :woot:
 
Just so I have some knowledge with this because it's all new to me.... if I see a drop 50 or below what do I do? How soon do I have to act and what if I can't get a hold of you for a few minutes? Its windy here where I live and we sometimes have power outages. I am prepared for that. But I won't have internet. I have my cell phone and I should still be able to communicate with you but if for some reason I can't what would I do?

"If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out."

You may want to print this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
"If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out."

You may want to print this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
Ok so basically HC food... I just keep hearing people reaching for honey. Why HC and not honey right away?
 
Ok so basically HC food... I just keep hearing people reaching for honey. Why HC and not honey right away?

If kitty won't eat or you don't have HC or HC is not enough.

Ok will do.... so are you gently putting her under 50? Just trying to understand why only LC now? Sorry for all the questions I am venturing into uncharted territory here :nailbiting:

I think she should surf these numbers. She doesn't usually dip very much after +2.5. So I want her to stay in these numbers for longer. They are good safe numbers. Let us see what she does.
 
Ok thank you for that explanation... that makes sense about the HC. Missy isn't a big fan of HC but she will eat if I sprinkle with a little bit of dried chicken crumbs.

Good plan with surfing in green.... When do you want me to test again. 30 min seeing she is so close to being below 50?
 
Yup. Test in 30 mins :)
Ok I will let you know....
You spend an incredible amount of time on this forum helping people Bhooma... do you work for FDMB or are you a volunteer? I don't really know how it all works but I am just so grateful people like you are willing to give their time to help people like me. :bighug:
 
Ok I will let you know....
You spend an incredible amount of time on this forum helping people Bhooma... do you work for FDMB or are you a volunteer? I don't really know how it all works but I am just so grateful people like you are willing to give their time to help people like me. :bighug:

We are all volunteers here! Just paying it forward. I have gained tremendously from the forum. :-)
 
Yes I do... every chance I can.:joyful: I honestly could not do this without you guys. My vet literally had me going in the completely wrong direction... it was scary.:nailbiting: You have taught me so much. :bighug:

Yes. I see so many new diabetic moms on FB feeding prescription food and giving insulin without testing. It's not their fault. That's what their vets have asked them to do and they have no reason to think vets are not giving them correct advice! Very few of them manage to make the leap to FDMB. We keep trying! :-)
 
Yes. I see so many new diabetic moms on FB feeding prescription food and giving insulin without testing. It's not their fault. That's what their vets have asked them to do and they have no reason to think vets are not giving them correct advice! Very few of them manage to make the leap to FDMB. We keep trying! :)
I know...It's so wrong... these vets need to do better.
testing time is 7 min...
 
Safe to call it a night. Feed her if she hasn't had her quota of food for the night.
Good night, Tammy! See you tomorrow :-)
 
Back
Top