02/13 AMPS 12.2 +6 13.7 new member

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bex_86, Feb 13, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bex_86

Bex_86 New Member

Hi! This is my first time posting and second day administering insulin (Lantus). Yesterday seemed to go well but today based on his number I think maybe I got a fur shot? Checked his urine for ketones and we're in the clear. Hoping to get a hang of this injecting. I've practiced the tenting so hoping the PM shot sticks! What should I expect with his numbers this week? We ahve started with 0.5 units.

Thanks!

Critter Mom likes this.
  2. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

Hello and welcome from snowy BC. I've moved your post to the Feline Heath forum, which is where we ask first time folks to post first.

Congrats on getting started, getting those ketones test in and good luck on the testing. We have a lot of test tips that might help you here: Hometesting Links and Tips

Can you tell me a bit more about how you discovered Benson was diabetic? Any other issues discovered at the same time? What was he eating before hand and what is he eating now?

Benson is showing a good initial response to the insulin. Good thing you didn't start on a higher dose. He may not be used to the lower numbers, and may be doing what we call bouncing: