02/13 Misty PMPS 182 +5 223 AMPS 324 +6 344 Dose?

rowena

Member Since 2019
Misty's numbers were starting to look a bit nicer on the 1.25u, but we're back in the pink range today. I'm wondering if it is because I had to give her FF broth to get her PMPS +5 reading. I also just had to give her FF broth to get her AMPS +6 reading. I tried using other food, but she won't let me go near her.
Her PM Shot will be the 6th dose at 1.25u. I am wondering if I should go up to 1.5 for the AM Shot.
I am asking now so that I may get some responses before the morning, as I am on AEDT (Sydney, Australia time). Thanks in advance.
 
I wouldn't expect the broth to really shoot things up. I would infer that she saw lower blues yesterday given PMPS, she is likely bouncing from that.

I cannot say increase, there's missing PM data (not a criticism, but if you want to follow TR and the quicker increases we do need at least a +2/+3 each night before bed).

I would hold this dose at least until the bounce clears, figure out what your testing situation is (i.e. if you can swing TR or not), then reevaluate
 
The broth would not effect the BG you were taking at the time. It would have to be about 20 minutes before it started to effect the BG. Hopefully I’ll hear back from the FF people tomorrow about the broth carbs.
It is possible she did drop yesterday morning and was coming back up at PMPS. I would wait to see if she comes back down again as that’s the first blue in 10 days.

@FrostD To do TR Rowena needs minimum to get the preshots and one test in each cycle which she is doing. . She has been having trouble trying to get Misty to cooperate with testing and had a failed freestyle libre attached last week that cost her $400! She is also testing for ketones.
She was on 4 units and was not testing and had 2 hypos and we are now looking for the best dose for her. :)
 
I wouldn't expect the broth to really shoot things up. I would infer that she saw lower blues yesterday given PMPS, she is likely bouncing from that.

I cannot say increase, there's missing PM data (not a criticism, but if you want to follow TR and the quicker increases we do need at least a +2/+3 each night before bed).

I would hold this dose at least until the bounce clears, figure out what your testing situation is (i.e. if you can swing TR or not), then reevaluate
Thank you for your help. Besides the difficulties @Bron and Sheba (GA) explained in her comment, by way of explanation, I should say I was giving pm shot at 12.30am!!! It all got out of whack due to vets. I’ve slowly brought it back to 9.15pm. I did get up in the middle of the night last night to do the +5. I will try tonight, but I have to be guided by Misty sometimes because I can only test when she’s eating. I’m trying my best.
 
The broth would not effect the BG you were taking at the time. It would have to be about 20 minutes before it started to effect the BG. Hopefully I’ll hear back from the FF people tomorrow about the broth carbs.
It is possible she did drop yesterday morning and was coming back up at PMPS. I would wait to see if she comes back down again as that’s the first blue in 10 days.

@FrostD To do TR Rowena needs minimum to get the preshots and one test in each cycle which she is doing. . She has been having trouble trying to get Misty to cooperate with testing and had a failed freestyle libre attached last week that cost her $400! She is also testing for ketones.
She was on 4 units and was not testing and had 2 hypos and we are now looking for the best dose for her. :)
@FrostD and Bron - could Misty have had a bounce because I was trying to bring the time backwards? I was only doing it by 15 mins to 30 Mins increments, but maybe that explains it.
 
@FrostD and Bron - could Misty have had a bounce because I was trying to bring the time backwards? I was only doing it by 15 mins to 30 Mins increments, but maybe that explains it.
No. Shooting earlier might give you a lower BG that cycle (but 15 to30 minutes is not enough to do that).
She would have bounced from the lower BGs yesterday am cycle and PMPS BG. She most likely dropped lower in the am after the 15.3 and was on the way back up at PMPS 10.1.
That is lower than she has been for 12 days so I would say, that is the culprit.
 
No. Shooting earlier might give you a lower BG that cycle (but 15 to30 minutes is not enough to do that).
She would have bounced from the lower BGs yesterday am cycle and PMPS BG. She most likely dropped lower in the am after the 15.3 and was on the way back up at PMPS 10.1.
That is lower than she has been for 12 days so I would say, that is the culprit.
Thank you. I just tried to do the +2 and Misty let me do it, but I couldn’t see properly and I couldn’t get enough blood on the strip so I got an error message and I tried again and the same thing happened. I had to give up. I am so annoyed with myself for messing it up when Misty was actually quite patient. I don’t think I can do TR. I’ll just do my best to muddle along. It’s better than what we were doing before. I rescued her from the pound when she was 2 and no one would have her. She’ll be 13 tomorrow, so she’s done ok. Her treatment won’t be perfect but it’s better than nothing or the alternative.
 
The broth would not effect the BG you were taking at the time. It would have to be about 20 minutes before it started to effect the BG. Hopefully I’ll hear back from the FF people tomorrow about the broth carbs.
It is possible she did drop yesterday morning and was coming back up at PMPS. I would wait to see if she comes back down again as that’s the first blue in 10 days.

@FrostD To do TR Rowena needs minimum to get the preshots and one test in each cycle which she is doing. . She has been having trouble trying to get Misty to cooperate with testing and had a failed freestyle libre attached last week that cost her $400! She is also testing for ketones.
She was on 4 units and was not testing and had 2 hypos and we are now looking for the best dose for her. :)
That's why I said not a criticism :) we've all been there. There are cycles missing that 2nd test, so just my opinion better to assume SLGS until testing is sorted
 
Thank you. I just tried to do the +2 and Misty let me do it, but I couldn’t see properly and I couldn’t get enough blood on the strip so I got an error message and I tried again and the same thing happened. I had to give up. I am so annoyed with myself for messing it up when Misty was actually quite patient. I don’t think I can do TR. I’ll just do my best to muddle along. It’s better than what we were doing before. I rescued her from the pound when she was 2 and no one would have her. She’ll be 13 tomorrow, so she’s done ok. Her treatment won’t be perfect but it’s better than nothing or the alternative.
It sometimes feels like anything other than TR is "less than" and it quite simply is not true. Focus on Misty and how she's doing and feeling. Numbers and dose are not the whole cat!

And you can always change later...if she's more easy about testing and/or you get more efficient, re evaluate at some point down the road.

I had been doing all testing for a year + and so efficient at it I almost forgot how bad it is at first ...then my husband started and it was a solid disaster, still is sometimes. Give yourself some grace
 
Back
Top