02/28/2021 Buddy PMPS 196 +4 34 +5 54 +6.5 44 +6.75 46

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sandra And Buddy (GA), Feb 28, 2021.

  1. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Last condo


    Buddy is not doing well today, I am glad he is running high today because he is not eating. I got him to eat a little at shot time and maybe a 1/2 tsp or so at +2 I am pretty sure he has got something wrong teeth wise. very painful to even try to touch him.

    I can't get into a vet today there is a 4+ hour wait at the ER (3 different vets) and even if I did get in they say that cant do anything with dental today. so I will call first thing in the morning to his regular vet.

    I got a hold of some cbd oil and managed to get a partial dose in him, hoping it will help a little.

    I also have some
    Rimadyl
    that I got for my dog and I see that it is NOT FDA approved for cats any one know anything different?

    I also have some
    Human Gabapentin (600mg) tablets
    Any way for me to make use of this? I know its a big dose but I could crush it and weigh it out to a proper dose.

    I of course will not do anything that has not been successfully done and is safe. I just hate seeing him hurting.
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Poor Buddy, I hope you can get him treated soon.

    I would not use the Rimadyl - NSAID's in general are not good for cats. Check to see if the gabapentin has anything else in it. Warning here. Any chance of getting a hold of a vet or someone to help you with dosing? A good pill cutter might help you cut it to size, a pharmacy might have one of those.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  3. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    So sorry to hear Buddy isn't feeling well :bighug: Hugs to you too Sandra :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    Has Buddy visited any of the ERs previously? If so, perhaps the vet would dose out some pain meds to get you through the day/night? Just a thought to try.

    Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  4. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    He has not seen any of the ER vets, but I did ask on the phone if there was any pain meds I could get and they said not without the vet actually seeing him.
     
  5. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    ugh not surprising for them to say but still stinks. Perhaps you can get a sliver off your tablet (e.g., 100mg or 50mg)? Thinking of you all :bighug:
     
  6. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019

    Hmm, well I am not sure if I am ok just wingin it with gaba. I don't want to just make him sleep more either. I am going to make another call into the vet.
     
  7. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Regular vet is of course closed, and the ER vets will not give me dosing advice for gaba. Hmm. well, hopefully the cbd will help a little.

    So If I can't get him to eat then I cant give him his PM shot. I don't think he will let me syring some food in, that is how I got the cbd down and he was not happy with that at all.
     
  8. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Healing prayers:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You can give half dose at least, if he won't eat. Insulin does more in the body that counteract carbs in meals. Cats undergoing anaesthesia who cannot eat, still get half dose per most vets.

    Syringe feeding takes practice, took me a while and keeping on trying to find what worked for Neko and me.
     
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hi Sandra. I’m so sorry that your Buddy is in pain. It’s hard to see them like that and not be able to help alleviate that pain. I would not give my cat Rimadyl. I wish you had some buprenorphine on hand. I hope you can get some veterinary help soon.
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  11. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  12. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    PMPS 196 gave a reduced dose due to not eating. He managed to eat about 1tsp HC, I figured he would eat that over anything. Not much has changed during the day, we are just holding on until tomorrow. Reduced dose by 1/2u while he is not eating well. i will syringe feed if need.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
  13. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    +4 34 , Got him to eat tsp LC with honey and some gravy from some HC, he just kinda lays down on the floor where ever he is at this point.
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Apply honey to his gums if he doesn't eat.
     
  15. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    +4.25 38 he ate another tsp of the LC with honey and a little HC
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  16. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Getting anywhere near his gums is a no go. He is so sore there, and gets very angry if I try. He seems to be hungry enough from not eating that he will eat a little.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think I would stick to HC/honey till he is over 50. Not fill him up with LC. Can you apply honey on his lips so he will lick it off?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  18. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    The reason for the LC is because he can't eat the HC due to mouth pain, I think I will try and blend the HC into a pate. I will try the honey on his lips.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Honey is the fastest way to bring him up. If you can apply it anywhere where he will lick it. His lips, snout, hands (if he is an over-groomer though he may be in too much pain to bother)
     
  20. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Ok got some honey on his lips under his nose.
    blended some HC into a soup? LOL
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Great! Did he eat the HC? I hope the honey brings him up. He seems to like to make you slog every other night!
     
  22. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    44 at 4.5 honey on lips and few licks of food
    51 at 4.75 No food, check in 15 mins
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  23. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    @Bandit's Mom Havent tried what I blended yet. things been moving too fast here LOL will try next, I am sure he will need it
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  24. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yup. The night is still young! I am becoming familiar with Buddy's variety of PJ parties! LOL

    If he is over 50 at +5, you can switch to half hour tests. His poor ears!
     
  25. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    54 at +5. Will try no food and check in 30
     
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. But if he wants to eat, let him have the LC. He will likely dip once the carb wears off. I don't need to tell you this. You are doing it every other night! :D
     
  27. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    @Bandit's Mom Yes a little to frequent lately, be careful what you wish for blah blah blah and stuff.
    the board is keeping you busy tonight, Thank you for being here for everyone!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  28. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    50 at +5.5 no food check in 30
     
  29. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Why are you withholding food? Let him eat if he wants to. He is still low and likely to keep dipping way into the night! :)
     
  30. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    not so much withholding, He is refusing, I figured he would probably drop more though I am actually doing another check right now, and will make him get up if need.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  31. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    49 at +5.75 made him get out of bed and he ate 1/2 tsp of HC soup. Not wanting LC at this point Check in 30.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  32. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    HC is fine since he's going to be living dangerously again tonight! Were you able to give him anything for the pain? Besides the CBD?
     
  33. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    No, couldn't get any of the vets that I talked to to help me. Just trying to keep him comfortable. I couldn't even get another dose of cbd in him, he wont let me get close to his mouth, I may try again while he is half asleep, although I don't want to choke him either. Vet call first thing in the morning.
     
  34. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You don't want to try the human gabapentin? I have no experience with it, so can't help with dosing.
     
  35. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    the docs wouldnt help with dosing. they are 600 mg tabs, and from looking online a starting dose would be about 15mg. I could probably split the dose but would be really easy to mess it up. So it just makes me a bit nervous. thought about a 1/4 tab it into food and then splitting the food. May work. might think on it some more.
     
  36. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    44 at +6.5 tsp HC
     
  37. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    oh! breaking a 600mg tab into 15mg would be tough. easy to mess up like you said.
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  38. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    give honey! apply on lips/snout
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  39. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    could be done though! Just not sure I want to attempt.
     
  40. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    yeah. better to be safe.
     
  41. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Honey! done. Well did karo this time but yeah.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Liz & Minnie like this.
  42. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    46 at +6.75 Ugh! tsp HC and honey. c'mon now.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    How much do you think Buddy has eaten so far tonight in terms of what he would eat normally? 10%? 25%?
    I wonder if you need to take that reduction to 4.5U after all. If you have to keep him up every other night with HC and honey....
     
  44. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    I was thinking the same. Normally He will eat about 1 can per day maybe a little more. All day today he probably ate a little over 1/4 can . that is including the extra that he has been getting tonight. he also only ate 1/4 - 1/2 can yesterday. I am really surprised that I am getting him to eat tonight, Must be the HC (of course I could be off a bit)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  45. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The 30's always means a reduction, regardless of circumstances. If he won't take syrup in his mouth, there is always the other end. :blackeye:
     
  46. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Yes I have my dropper bottle ready for that! I am just happy he is eating tonight.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  47. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    When George's mouth was sore I found that he would lick the food of a teaspoon, but not the bowl.

    My other cat would lick it off my fingers.
     
  48. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    52 at +7.5 Are we there yet? Should I feed or see if he can hold it. seems to be about the same time he would start coming up.

    Last night and This morning I had to hand feed him he would not eat out of the bowl.
     
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Since he hasn't eaten enough yesterday and today, I would let him eat if he will. It's okay if it is late in the cycle.
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  50. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    that's what I found i had to do with George until he got some pain relief. It was a struggle but the only way I could get food into him. His bad teeth made him feel so bad, that I too was questioning whether it was his time, initially the regular vet didn't diagnose his problem and wanted me just to watch him, he was deteriorating in front of my eyes, a second opinion, and my suspicion it was his mouth, saw him treated for really bad gingivitis, and then scheduled for extractions, the original vet didn't want to address his teeth problems, becuase he was old, diabetic and CKD, the second vet was more experienced and took the view that either we sorted his teeth out or they would kill him anyways if we did nothing. The dental wasn't without risk, but it went well and 3 years on my 21year old boy is doing well. I hope you can get to a vet soon, to have them look at his mouth and see if there is something they can do about that.

    I agree with Bhooma let him eat after nadir, just no food within 2 hrs of amps.
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  51. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    57 at +8 whew! 6.75 was his last food, he wasn't interested last check. So he is holding and coming up.
    He did just eat 2 tsp of HC soup Not sure if he is doing better eating because it is HC or because it is soup, I will make a LC soup in the morning and see how he does with that. but for now I am heading to bed. AMPS comes in 4 hrs.

    Thank you so much to everyone. tomorrow will be a busy day.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Gill & George like this.
  52. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Heading to the vet, will update in new condo later.
     
    Gill & George and Bandit's Mom like this.
  53. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sending vines. Fingers and paws crossed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Sandra And Buddy (GA) likes this.
  54. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Prayers, vetty vines and paws crossed:bighug:
     

Share This Page