? 02/28 Sly, AMPS 358, +3 146, +4 109, +4.5 116, +5.5 121, +7 152, PMPS 164, +1 168, +2 169, +4 194

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Deb and Sylvester, Feb 28, 2023.

  1. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-198-5-201-7-341-pmps-304-2-305-4-337.274682/

    Good morning!

    Sly may have eaten a couple of HC foods last night. I was cleaning up and one of the other cats dishes spilled, and of course he was there to Hoover up the mess.

    This won't happen again, because I had already decided last night that everyone in the house is going to YA, so I'll just have to wait a day or two before over analyzing his numbers.
     
    Skye & Jackson likes this.
  2. Skye & Jackson

    Skye & Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2022
    Funny how the cats that are supposed to be diet controlled are the fastest - almost desperate - Hoovers. Maybe commercial kibble really is as addictive as they say! (Oils sprayed on, etc…)
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  3. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Well, I hope it doesn't spike him, I just got a 146...
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    @Bandit's Mom

    Hi Bhooma,

    He's 146, should I wait an hour and test? He's eating his YA food.

    I'm certain that if he did get a few pieces of HC food, it was only the DM, I don't have any regular HC in the house.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  5. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023

    It's like CRACK for cats!! Lol
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. You can wait an hour to test.

    Do you mean last night?
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  7. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    It was actually in the middle of the night, I woke up to use the loo, and saw that I left the food dish on the bench behind the couch ( I meant to put it away on the counter and passed out instead).

    Like I said, it was mostly the YA, but there were a couple DM mixed in.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  8. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023

    +4 109

    He had his fish broth and some YA about 20 minutes ago.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    +4.5 116
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wonder if you will see a repeat of 2/25 and an all blue day ending in a blue PMPS :cool:

    If you can monitor, shoot without stalling tonight. You want to see what 5U can do on the new food and whether he needs a reduction or more juice.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  11. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Ok... Makes me so nervous, because he hits nadir early in the cycle :nailbiting:
     
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Lantus nadir is typically around +4 though some cats nadir sooner or later.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  13. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Yes, I am seeing that as I scroll everyone's updates. My former sugar boy had a later nadir, between 6 and 7ish.

    Going to check him and update..
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  14. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Holding steady!

    My Vet called to tell me she peeked at his spreadsheet and she's so happy about his progress.

    I'm gonna need to put my brass ballsies on tonight if he's blue at PMPS... :rolleyes:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  15. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I see those extra kibbles he should not have had showing in his +7...
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I'm off to bed. Nearly 1 am for me. He might go easy on you and give you a yellow PS. Or maybe not! Good luck. You can do it! :)
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  17. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Goodnight Bhooma!!

    I know, I know. I keep telling myself that.
    Thanks for the confidence and support!!

    Deb
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  18. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    @Suzanne & Darcy @Wendy&Neko

    I'm was nervous, but I pushed through and gave him 4.75U tonight.

    Maybe I should have done the full 5, but, I just need to know someone is out there!

    Deb
     
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh, I was going to say after looking at his SS… . why did you reduce to 4.75 tonight? Just nerves, I think. Well, that’s natural. I think the full dose would be fine. Shooting lower numbers with Lantus usually gives you a nice flat cycle without any steep drops. As long as you’re monitoring, I expect no problems.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  20. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Yes, I was honestly shaking when I drew the insulin. Haven't felt that fear in a long time.

    Plus, once I got all the air bubbles out it was just under 5.

    I'm already having a panic attack!
     
  21. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    +1 168
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Not that it helps any now, but the first part of the cycle will play out like you shot 5 units, due to the nature of the depot. Paws crossed for more blue flatness.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  23. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I always forget that it's like a cycle or 2 behind. I'm looking forward to a lower morning pre-shot number. I want him nice and level.:)
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  24. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I am proud that I didn't stall though...!:joyful:
     
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    See! Blue flatness! Just as you ordered :cool:
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  26. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    He's had such a great day! He's up to 194 right now, but overall, I am pleased with how he's progressing!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  27. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I chickened out by a quarter unit, but would have stalled without your confidence in me,

    Thank you Bhooma!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You shot and without stalling. That's progress :) :bighug:
    Looks like the 109 this morning was his nadir on the dose. Let's see what he does in the next couple of days.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  29. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and Bandit's Mom like this.

Share This Page