03/03 Chico 225@PMPS; 86@2; 77@ 2.5; 72@3; 67@3.5

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Marina & Chico, Mar 3, 2021.

  1. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    We were taken by surprise with an 86@2. We gave 2 drops of honey just to slow him down. Will measure in half

    Yesterday's thread
     
  2. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    We measure 77@ 2.5 after 2 drops of honey. We consider giving a tsp of LC with 2 drops of honey.
     
  3. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Do you have any higher carb food? ex fancy feast gravy? I would re test in 20 minutes if you have fed with the LC and honey
     
    Marina & Chico likes this.
  4. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    We have 13% and 19%,

    we suspect Chico of ibd and we are trying to avoid the use of any other foods than his main one, hence the honey. Of course if he keeps on dropping we will take out the heavy gears but would try to avoid it if possible
     
  5. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Okay just keep an eye on him and test. Molly drops pretty low at times. Sometimes I have a hard time getting her numbers up. I have HC kibble that I'll give her.
     
    Marina & Chico likes this.
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If in the 50’s you would need a little hc early in the cycle but a little mc in the 80’s is usually all that’s needed. They make mc add about 1/4 t of honey. It will be trial and error to see how much is needed. Good you are testing and caught the early drop. :D
     
    Marina & Chico likes this.
  7. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    thank you for the suggestion, we tried approx 1/4 tsp, let's see if this will stop him from dropping

    We measure +1 when we suspect he might go low, to give us enough time for flattening the curb. this one took us by surprise completely.

    we are 72@3 now
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With Lantus onset for most at +2 many find f that’s lower than tge preshot you will need to watch closely. Many get a food bump at +1.
     
    Marina & Chico likes this.
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would have fed a couple teaspoons when you got the 72. It’s early.
     
    Marina & Chico likes this.
  10. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    We always measure +2, but because Chico is a swingy boy we learned to start with +1 when his preshot is low. I guess our tolerances increased and now we didnt consider a PS of 225 as low... actually we were expecting a bounce, that’s why we were taken by surprise
     
  11. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    Good to know, i guess we were lucky he slowed down and gave us the space to control
     

Share This Page