03/04 Zot, AMPS 129, +1 142, +2 106. +5 95, +8 111, PMPS 129

Hi Stephanie! Welcome to the forum! Sorry you have to be here, but we're glad to have you along on the journey with the rest of us.

Please add Zot's name to your title. You'll see the daily title format if you look at the other posted titles.

Wishing you and Zot safe surfing today!
 
Hi Stephanie! Welcome to the forum! Sorry you have to be here, but we're glad to have you along on the journey with the rest of us.

Please add Zot's name to your title. You'll see the daily title format if you look at the other posted titles.

Wishing you and Zot safe surfing today!
Oh dang, I forgot. Adding it right now! Thank you so much!
 
Can you add a link to your last post in the first post of this forum, so people can go back to read the history?

It took me about a week to get good with the calipers but they helped to make the doses so much more consistent, as I fould the 0 line on the syringes varied from the top of the syringe by as much as a 1/4 unit.
 
Can you add a link to your last post in the first post of this forum, so people can go back to read the history?

It took me about a week to get good with the calipers but they helped to make the doses so much more consistent, as I fould the 0 line on the syringes varied from the top of the syringe by as much as a 1/4 unit.

Ah yes, my bad. I thought it was just from this point on that I'd add links to previous Lantus category postings.
I'll grab that and attach it in the post.

That's interesting, I didn't realize that the zero line could vary.. I'm really struggling to see where it is, and I don't have bad vision or anything; they're just very small.
 
Ah yes, my bad. I thought it was just from this point on that I'd add links to previous Lantus category postings.
I'll grab that and attach it in the post.

That's interesting, I didn't realize that the zero line could vary.. I'm really struggling to see where it is, and I don't have bad vision or anything; they're just very small.
Welcome Stephanie and Zot!
It takes lots of practice so don’t worry. You’ll get the hang of it!

Wishing you both lots of good luck and don’t hesitate to ask lots of questions.
Ps, Zot is adorable!
:cat::bighug::cat:
 
What caliper do you recommend? Or do any do just fine for dosing?

I bought the ones from Harbor Freight that are in the video. Just look at the specs on them and buy something similar. You want to be able to lock them in place once set. I was lucky that I used the syringes in the video. How you set them depends on the syringes you use. The syringes I used were better than most but the lines varied a lot. They were discontinued but I don’t know why.
 
Here's a post on Dosing using calipers.
When you get to the fine doses, 1/8 to 1/4 unit or more in varience means a lot.
I once took 3 syringes back to the Walmart Pharmacy to show them the differences in the 3 syringes and they said they would report it to the manufactuer, and only gave me a free new box of syringes.
Humans that take 30 units at a time, those little flucuations don't mean much, but to a kitty taking 0.5 (or 0.75) units that little bit can mean a lot.
 
I bought the ones from Harbor Freight that are in the video. Just look at the specs on them and buy something similar. You want to be able to lock them in place once set. I was lucky that I used the syringes in the video. How you set them depends on the syringes you use. The syringes I used were better than most but the lines varied a lot. They were discontinued but I don’t know why.

I see. I will try to find some good ones for this!
Also, I think Zot is responding really well to insulin; of course, I am uncomfortable with him being lower just because I'm new to this. But I know this is a good thing for him, and as long as he's not under 40 or 50, I don't need to panic. I am happy he has seen greens so early into his treatment without any problems. Just read a 95 @ +5!

I have a question, though: Is it ideal to be able to see a spike in sugars from food? So far, aside from one cycle some days ago, I do not see spikes when feeding Zot his snacks. Some days, I see numbers going down despite eating snacks, even on some days where he has skipped a dose. Is this normal? Or is it something I should be relatively concerned about?

@Dyana , That's crazy. I know that a lot of syringes are made with humans in mind, but it would be nice if things could be more consistent for pets too. It would save a lot of trouble. I cannot afford the pet brands of syringes and am only using some currently as the vet gave them to me (donated to them). Is the variation also seen in the syringes made with pets in mind, or is it the same kind of deal?
 
If his pancreas is working a little you won’t necessarily see a spike when he eats lc. In fact cats on .25 or less are often told to feed a snack at +9 as a working pancreas will bring the bg down 3-4 hours after eating. When well controlled many cats on insulin will have flat green or b,he and green cycles. In addition to falling under 50 a reduction can be earned by being green or in normal bg for 7 days.
When you some some time it might be helpful to look at some spreadsheets.

Keep asking questions.

Here’s just one.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...-qFJT18-1RgNbteog6olv2gz6GMVwG4zxoqsj/pubhtml
 
If his pancreas is working a little you won’t necessarily see a spike when he eats lc. In fact cats on .25 or less are often told to feed a snack at +9 as a working pancreas will bring the bg down 3-4 hours after eating. When well controlled many cats on insulin will have flat green or b,he and green cycles. In addition to falling under 50 a reduction can be earned by being green or in normal bg for 7 days.
When you some some time it might be helpful to look at some spreadsheets.

Keep asking questions.

Here’s just one.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...-qFJT18-1RgNbteog6olv2gz6GMVwG4zxoqsj/pubhtml

Thank you so much! :) I'm so excited to get some semi-normal sleep again soon once we find our normals! Actually picking up a new alarm today because I've been sleeping through them and missing times that I want to test on some hours.
 
Back
Top