ThisIsAllForZot
Member
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...1-4-93-7-94-9-92-pmps-83.298924/#post-3251472
I am still struggling to shoot green numbers below 90 and need a bit of assistance. I have read through TR, as I feel like it might be the best thing for Zot. He doesn't really seem to want to "go slow" and has responded much quicker to insulin than I initially suspected.
I chose SLGS initially because it seemed similar to how my Vet was going to treat him at the time, as well as beginner-friendly. In yesterday's thread, I spoke a little about my experience with it so far. I got comfortable shooting numbers under 200, he stopped sitting near 200. So I tried to get comfortable with 150, but he isn't reading 150 at pre-shots anymore, either. I tried getting comfortable with 120 readings, and the same thing happened. Now, 2 pre-shots in the last 2 days have been around 90 or below, and it's been very hard for me to make a decision comfortably while being new to all of this.
I also don't entirely know how he responds consistently to insulin, but his diagnosis is so recent. I know he responds quickly/well (or has so far), but that is it. So it makes it a little harder to be comfy with shooting when I don't entirely understand him yet as a diabetic kitty or his usuals, apart from him sitting in greens/blues.
I read through all the links, and I don't know if I'm missing something. I think I remember @Sienne and Gabby (GA) saying something about anything over 50 being okay to shoot? Correct me if I'm wrong; I've posted so much that I'm struggling to find the conversation. (Tagging you here to get your input <3)
Basically, I'm nervous, and I may need to have this explained to me like I'm a complete child. The SLGS felt very direct with the numbers (eg, Beginners don't shoot if under 200, etc), and obviously, with each cat being different and him responding much quicker than I thought he would, this has all been happening so fast. It is very hard to keep up mentally with remembering all the information about numbers and dose reductions and his numbers going low blues/high greens so quickly (and additional things like the functions of the body producing natural insulin or healing, depots, etc). Ultimately, I just want to make the best decision moving forward, and I might need someone to give me the nudge to shoot below 90 if that is what is necessary. I don't want to hinder his progress.
I am still struggling to shoot green numbers below 90 and need a bit of assistance. I have read through TR, as I feel like it might be the best thing for Zot. He doesn't really seem to want to "go slow" and has responded much quicker to insulin than I initially suspected.
I chose SLGS initially because it seemed similar to how my Vet was going to treat him at the time, as well as beginner-friendly. In yesterday's thread, I spoke a little about my experience with it so far. I got comfortable shooting numbers under 200, he stopped sitting near 200. So I tried to get comfortable with 150, but he isn't reading 150 at pre-shots anymore, either. I tried getting comfortable with 120 readings, and the same thing happened. Now, 2 pre-shots in the last 2 days have been around 90 or below, and it's been very hard for me to make a decision comfortably while being new to all of this.
I also don't entirely know how he responds consistently to insulin, but his diagnosis is so recent. I know he responds quickly/well (or has so far), but that is it. So it makes it a little harder to be comfy with shooting when I don't entirely understand him yet as a diabetic kitty or his usuals, apart from him sitting in greens/blues.
I read through all the links, and I don't know if I'm missing something. I think I remember @Sienne and Gabby (GA) saying something about anything over 50 being okay to shoot? Correct me if I'm wrong; I've posted so much that I'm struggling to find the conversation. (Tagging you here to get your input <3)
Basically, I'm nervous, and I may need to have this explained to me like I'm a complete child. The SLGS felt very direct with the numbers (eg, Beginners don't shoot if under 200, etc), and obviously, with each cat being different and him responding much quicker than I thought he would, this has all been happening so fast. It is very hard to keep up mentally with remembering all the information about numbers and dose reductions and his numbers going low blues/high greens so quickly (and additional things like the functions of the body producing natural insulin or healing, depots, etc). Ultimately, I just want to make the best decision moving forward, and I might need someone to give me the nudge to shoot below 90 if that is what is necessary. I don't want to hinder his progress.