03/10 Babulica AMPS 118 (+16.5) +4 125, +17 77

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by dinu55, Mar 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :D

    What was your indication that Babu had diabetes? You know sometimes, especially this early, with diet change and a little insulin help the pancreas starts working again. Fingers crossed!
     
  2. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    At. Christmas, he began to pee more. I thought from the cold. Then he stopped for a while. In January Babulica was sterilized. After sterilization, after a week, he began to weaken, and vomited + pee often again. So I went to the vet and I did all the tests, and detect high blood sugar.
     
  3. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Was he prescribed steroids during that time? That will bring on FD sometimes. I think it was a factor with Gizmo.
     
  4. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    No. I gave only insulin. The vet gave him the first day and infusion. And he made some shots for 3 days.

    +78 at +14:30. I'm afraid to give it 0.75u. I do not know what to do. I'm thinking of 0.5u . What do you say?
     
  5. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    You hold the syringe. 0.50 will drain the depot a bit more and could give you and Babu a little break but it is your call. You know how to manage with food and you can monitor and test. Do you have plenty of strips and HC food?
     
  6. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I'll wait 30 minutes more. I have plenty food, but I do not know if Babulica wants to eat them
     
  7. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
  8. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
  9. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Current situation:
    78 @ +12:30
    69 @ +13
    67 @ +13:30
    64 @ +14:30
    78 @ +15

    Currently on hold, No food. No shot.

    Dinu - is that correct?^^ Just trying to get all the info on one new post for those who might be looking.

    By stalling it is already like a dose decrease. If you are more confortable shooting 0.5u I say go ahead and get a final PS test, feed and shoot.
     
  10. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Il test now and post here the numbers.
    correct numbers:
    78 @+12
    69 @ +12:30
    67 @ +13
    64 @ +13:30
    78 @ +14:30
     
  11. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I would go ahead and feed and shoot. Your choice on 0.5U or 0.75U.

    Get a final PS test.

    Sometimes kitties have what is called a double dip at the end of they cycle - that could be what you are seeing.
     
  12. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
  13. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I gave only food , I am afraid to shot. The BG stand steal 30 minutes. I'll test again ..... :facepalm::confused::bookworm:
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  14. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Ok. Just realize that new number (+15.5) will be food influenced.
     
  15. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Will there be any issue in shooting PM shot at +12 hours from when you do shoot this morning? Keep that in mind when making the decision.
     
  16. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    ok. I do not know what happens!!. o_O . He ate little. I think 25-30g
     
  17. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    with this delay, I passed in PM with 1 hour and 43 minutes (right now)
     
  18. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I don't understand this?

    At next test it will be +3.5 hours from when the shot should have been - correct?
     
  19. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Yes
     
  20. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    The injection should be given normal at 10:30am
     
  21. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Wow Dinu, Babulica is keeping you on your toes. I dont have enough experience for any specific advice, but you and Maria are doing an awesome job :bighug:
     
    LizzieInTexas and dinu55 like this.
  22. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    We only give injections and measure the BG. Babulica does the rest
     
  23. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :)
     
  24. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +15:30 87
     
  25. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    78 @+12
    69 @ +12:30
    67 @ +13
    64 @ +13:30
    78 @ +14:30
    78 @ +15
    87 @ +15:30
    but ate meantime
     
  26. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I don't know what to tell you to do. I think just skip this shot. Monitor through the day and pick back up tonight at regular time. That would also allow other, more experienced eyes on this.

    That was not much of a food bump.
     
  27. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Next test in 1 hour :confused:
     
  28. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Can you change your title? Current date, AMBG +12 78, +12.5 69, ...(etc) No shot or skip shot.

    Usually you would start a new thread every day so we are only dealing with current information. Then edit 1st post and say "see post 125 for current info" so those reading know where to get the most current says info.
     
  29. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I have to get ready to leave for work. Back on line in about an hour.

    You are doing great!
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  30. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hey There Babulica's Dad. Whew he is giving you a run with his last few cycles ! Unless he comes up to at least 90 and your schedule allows you to be off by 3 + hours , I would just skip the shot and resume at your normal shot time tonight .
     
    dinu55 and LizzieInTexas like this.
  31. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Hi. I test BG again at +16:30 to see if bounce or no bounce.
     
  32. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +16:30 118 . Now is definitely climb. What do you say, to give 0.75?
     
  33. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    If your schedule allows you to do it (meaning, you can give him his next dose 12 hours from now), then you should be ok to shoot. As for the amount, its up to you. If you feel comfortable shooting 0.75u, then go for it. We already know you are good about monitoring and have supplies. I'd hate for kitty to lose the nice momentum he has by completely skipping.

    (But maybe Bobbie will have a different opinion.)
     
  34. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Also, Dinu, here is some info on the depot. If you had shot at regular/normal time this morning that dose (this morning's AM skipped dose) would have been kicking in about now. Try and remember - Lantus doesn't work 'immediately' - it is a slow process.

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/

     
  35. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I gave about 0.65u - 0.70u (a little less than 0.75u) at 3:15 PM.
     
  36. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be and remember that now your next shot will be 12 hours from this one which will be at 3:15 AM :blackeye:
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  37. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Good . Either I or Mary will be together with Babulica at that time. :blackeye: x 2
     
  38. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Change your title to:
    03/10 Babulica AMPS 118 (+16.5), +2 xxx (<- add to title as the day/tests continue)

    Hope he keeps surfing for you! :cool:
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and dinu55 like this.
  39. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +2 134
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  40. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Ok, so he may go down again (normal cycle) or the next test may show he is on the rise still (which can be expected because his body is still getting use to going lower).

    I think doing the next test at +4 should be go. (Though, remember, I am no "expert". ha ha)
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  41. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Maybe you're an mini-expert :) . Anyway surely more skillful than me. Next test +4
     
  42. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Maybe soon will come a Godzilla bounce, I do not know . But what I see is that Babulica has almost 24h in blue and green . ( numbers between 59 and 137) :cat:
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  43. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I just got the tag about the spreadsheet.

    The spreadsheets are formatted differently so when you first did the spreadsheet, did you use the one for Pet Meters instead of the one for human meters? Is it correct that you never used a pet meter, only a human meter?

    If you've always used a human meter but you downloaded the speed sheet for a pet meter, than it's not just the numbers at the top that need to be changed. The formatting for the rest of the spreadsheet has to be changed.

    I'm more than happy to help you with that if you would like to send me a private message by clicking on "Marje and Gracie" to the left and then "start a conversation". :)
     
  44. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +4 125
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  45. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Yes, Marje. They used the AT SS, but never used a pet meter. He removed the line that said it was for AT.
     
    dinu55 and Marje and Gracie like this.
  46. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Looks like Babulica is coming down slowly again. I don't see that "Godzilla bounce" you were worried about, thank goodness! :p

    How does Babulica feel about all this testing? Or does he just like getting the treats I assume you're giving him?
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  47. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Hi. So far Babulica says nothing. Luckily he stand quiet . His ears look good. I became an expert at prick gentle. :cool:
     
  48. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    That is good. It's not easy to do, and you are lucky Babulica is so cooperative. It certainly takes some stress out of the situation.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  49. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +6 91
    any suggestion?
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  50. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    When did you last feed? Babulica should be at or near nadir, but he's already proven he doesn't follow the rules, so it might not be a bad idea to give him a snack if he hasn't eaten recently.
     
  51. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Looks to be in good shape so far, just surfing along. When did he last eat?
     
  52. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    He ate 3 hours ago, little LC food
    I give little food now.
     
  53. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    About 25-30g wet LC food 3 hour ago.
    Now the same
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  54. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Nice surfing there Babu!
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  55. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    This is good! :)
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  56. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    You have given me good advice yesterday with food, now what is your opinion?
     
  57. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    With regard to? Dosing? I can't give dosing advise. I don't have enough experience. Heck, I am trying to figure out if I should increase or not tonight myself :confused:.

    Will tag @Wendy&Neko and @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey and @Marje and Gracie
     
  58. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    No, i mean only with the food, You have given me good advice yesterday how to feed
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  59. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I use an autofeeder like this for Gizmo. It has 5 food slots.

    Slot 1 is PS food
    Slot 2 +2.5
    Slot 3 +4.5
    Slot 4 +6.5
    ^these all have his LC regular food. I split up his cycle evenly between them.
    Slot 5 +8.5 - has freeze dry treats - just so he doesn't get an empty bowl.

    This is the feeding schedule that I use for every cycle. I feed a little over an oz/slot so he gets a total of 8.75 oz per day (2 cycles). This keeps food available to him for most of the cycle and he usually will eat most, if not all of it.

    Gizmo also has kidney disease and pancreatitis and the smaller snacks/meals are better for those issues as well as good for FD to help keep them surfing and eating regular times. It is important that Babu gets enough to eat along with enough calories.

    How much does Babu weigh? How did he eat before he was diagnosed with FD? Did you free feed?

    This is the feeder I use (as do a lot of us here)

    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000GEWHNS/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
  60. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    aha, ok . I understand.
    About Babulica; now weighs 5 kg and less (50-100g). Babulica was a specialist in dry food. When he get wet food - just lick the sauce. He had access to food non-stop .
    The dry food bowl was full all the time, and he eat when he wanted
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  61. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Have you found a wet food he will eat? I don't know how many choices you have in Romania for cat food. We have so many here that it can be very confusing.
     
  62. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Now I have a lot of wet food. I ordered about 15 different kinds of food from zooplus in Germany. Most had less than 4% carbo. From all 15 different types of food, Babulica likes 2 types of wet foods, and eat them with pleasure. :) (1- animoda carny exotic, 2- thrive complete tuna & salmon)
     
  63. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Gizmo was the same way. It takes a little time but tough love works. Put food down. Let him eat what he wants (say for 15 min). Then pick it up and wait 2 hours (or your choice). Put it back down and again, let him eat/have access for 15 min or so. Babu will learn. Some here do free feed with the LC wet food. Just make sure that NO food 2 hours BEFORE shot time so you get accurate (non-food influenced) readings.

    Finding a LC wet food that he likes will be the key. It looks like his numbers are not being that influenced by food so figure out a schedule that will work (or get an autofeeder). If he is hungry when you put food down you might have better luck.

    Of course the exception to this feeding schedule is when Gizmo has low numbers and I need to steer (like you have been doing).
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  64. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Try mixing some of what he likes (like the tuna & salmon) with one that he doesn't like - you might get him to eat more variety that way and you can stretch the food a bit doing that too. Just a suggestion. It worked with Gizmo.
     
  65. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    A good idea . I didn't think about that . I'll try. :bighug:
     
  66. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +8 89
     
  67. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Good. Levelling off earlier in the cycle this time. Maybe you will get a shootable number at the right time tonight!
     
  68. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I hope :cat: , but is not excluded +15 ,+16 again o_O
     
  69. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    And do not forget that "Godzilla bounce" lurking around the corner. :nailbiting:
     
  70. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Shhh! Maybe Babulica forgot all about it! ;)
     
    LizzieInTexas and dinu55 like this.
  71. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Nice numbers for Babulica.

    Thrive tuna and salmon is Georges favourite too:cat::cat::cat:


    I like Lizzie's idea of mixing I. The other varieties to get him eating them. I tried that with George and it worked, had to start slow though. So first I mixed 1 TSP of the new with 4 tsp of his favourite, did that for a day or two then did 2tsp new with 3tsp favourite and so on.
    Until eventually he was eating the new variety.
     
    LizzieInTexas and dinu55 like this.
  72. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Hello. I'll try this method. I have a lot of food that Babulica do not eat. With this method I hope to eat. :cat:
     
  73. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    No! No godzilka bounces :p.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  74. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +10 86
     
  75. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Nice. Flattening out. Now, hopefully he will start to gently climb (gently, as in no bounces!)
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  76. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +12 64 (Astalavista +12) Next test +14
     
  77. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Looks like no bouce! :D
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  78. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    yes, I suppose that goes to +16 again. :confused::bookworm:
     
  79. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    At this point Babu is driving the train! Keep up the good work. :)

    You guys are doing great :bighug:
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  80. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    :bighug::cat::bighug:
     
  81. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +14 90
     
  82. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    So what is your plan for shooting? Are you going to wait till he goes higher?
     
  83. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Yes . Wait 45 minutes. If climb, I think to give 0.5u (at +12 I gave food, about 40g LC wet)
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  84. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Previous test was affected by food

    +14:45 86

    new test at +15:45
     
  85. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +15:45 81
     
  86. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Are you going to skip?
     
  87. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +17 77
    If climbs and passes 100, then I give the injection (probable 0.25u)
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  88. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +18 86

    +30g wet LC food
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  89. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Are you going to keep testing all night?
     
  90. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Good morning Tricia . Here is 9:42 in the morning. Yes I'll test every hour to see what happens
     
  91. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
  92. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    When do you sleep? Or are you two taking turns?
     
  93. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    All night we put the alarm clock. Mary stayed up until 5 in the morning (She was watching television on a program with recipes). We slept jerky :bookworm::cat:o_O:facepalm::blackeye:
     
  94. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    You are an awesome pair of cat parents. :bighug:
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  95. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +20 94
     
  96. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    How close is it to your "normal" shot time? Aren't we about there?
     
  97. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +21 101

    In 3 hours are 24 hours from the injection time.

    This 101 is good for Injection?, 0.25u?
     
  98. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I'll measure it again in 45 minutes , at +21:45. If blood sugar levels continue to rise, then I give 0.25u
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  99. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +21:45 107.
    Give 0.25u insuline (probably less. certainly not over 0.25u)

    Ears rest today. Next test +8
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  100. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Babu is on a mission to get off of insulin! :D
     
    dinu55 likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page