? 03/11 Eddie AMPS +12 47 +12.25 56 AMPS 76 +1.25 79 +3 92 +6.5 101 +9 106 PMPS 104 +7 130

@Wendy&Neko a bit concerned re: slow BG rise. Complicating matters Eddie not so interested in food, even HC...having to give in very small amount. Gravy on Churu treats. Hoping we can stay out of clinic.
 
You shot a food influenced number, which is not recommended when they are below the no shoot number. When/if cabergoline kicks in, caution is key. depending on where he is tonight you may wish to drain that 19 unit depot with a skip or half dose. which will keep him safer for tomorrow too.

Do you have syrup or honey on hand? I found a drop of corn syrup gave a bigger boost than HC. and you can always smear it on gums or syringe a little in. Yet another tool for the hypo kit so clinic not needed.
 
You shot a food influenced number, which is not recommended when they are below the no shoot number. When/if cabergoline kicks in, caution is key. depending on where he is tonight you may wish to drain that 19 unit depot with a skip or half dose. which will keep him safer for tomorrow too.

Do you have syrup or honey on hand? I found a drop of corn syrup gave a bigger boost than HC. and you can always smear it on gums or syringe a little in. Yet another tool for the hypo kit so clinic not needed.

I shot a syrup-influenced number. The next time around I gave HC (gravy) + syrup.

As for the clinic, I'm keeping an eye on him because he is dehydrated. Depending on where he is, I can drain the depot tonight but he's been drinking a lot of water in the last 24 hours.

I should say he is alert but drinking a lot. I'll be trying more food very soon.

@6.5 101, Eddie had some MC and LC TBSP.
 
Last edited:
how often is he getting fluids now? Have you ever tried some of the pet broths with him? Might be more interesting than plain water.
 
how often is he getting fluids now? Have you ever tried some of the pet broths with him? Might be more interesting than plain water.
We went from every 7 days to every 10 then back to every 8 days. Every 7 days usually meant he would be incontinent on his bed for a day or so. Every 10 days seemed not enough. We went from 100ml to 75 ml after the incontinence. Now we're at every 8 and he gets 75ml. I'll be sure he gets 100ml tomorrow if necessary (and if I don't have to take him in tonight. I'm a little nervous because I have to be at the university tomorrow by 9:30 and I'm not back until after 4:00pm (meaning AM +1.5 or so until later).
I will try a broth for him. That's a good idea. Thank you.
 
:D:D:D:D:D:DEddie!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Jodey, I see Eddie has kept you very busy but his numbers have been so good!!! I am glad that Eddie came back up for you today, and I hope and pray you don't have to take him into the clinic. Do you have an Instant Pot by chance? Not that you need one to make broth, but it makes quick work of making broth and fairly easy clean up. I hope Eddie feels good and eats better for you too!!!
 
just make the broth is plain, no onions or garlic. You can make your own by boiling meat too.
Just so you know, I'll have to go and buy broth. I'm vegan...:D

But, what do you think about tonight? He just had a +9 106 and so a little rise. He enjoyed the Churu treat and will be interested in eating tonight, I believe. I may have to skip his medications until tomorrow but I'll see. What do you think re: dose?
 
No more than half dose insulin and if he's high enough and willing to eat. That's what that 47 is telling me. You need him safe for tomorrow. Get pet broth, not human one. The human one likely has "vegetable broth" ie. onions in it.
 
No more than half dose insulin and if he's high enough and willing to eat. That's what that 47 is telling me. You need him safe for tomorrow. Get pet broth, not human one. The human one likely has "vegetable broth" ie. onions in it.
Yes, that sounds good. I went to pet food store and got Open Farm broth so, hopefully, he'll find that appealing.

I'll keep posts current. Thank you.
 
Well, that was a day, to put it mildly. I went and got some chicken broth (Open Farm pet food) and made Eddie a smoothie with his other food in a blender and then I poured that onto some more solid pate and he ate it all!! Hooray!! I even got his med into pill pockets, which I flattened like little pancakes with smoothie on them.

I wonder what tomorrow will bring. I cut the dose in half from this morning's decrease; so, 9u (1/2 of 18u). He looks good, although he's really annoyed with me. Really.

Thank you for keeping an eye on us.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Ok, so PM +7 130. I've given him some Churu and a dash of MC. The advice now is critical.

Assuming he remains in this range, goes higher, goes lower (regardless of Cabergoline), what dose???????

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @JL and Chip

Asking now because the morning will be stressful enough because I have to leave for work. Thank you.
 
Back
Top