03/24 Butters PMPS 83

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday overnight, Butters caught up on sleep. Today, she is still catching up on sleep. There is not one iota of excitement happening here:joyful::joyful:.
Have a great day, all.
On the constipation issue...have you thought of adding a little fiber to her diet? Psyllium fiber is safe for diabetics. Just a little bitty pinch each meal.

I helps bind water to the stool reducing constipation. It can also add a bit of bulk, which can be a good thing or not for some.

Cosmo’s dry food has psyllium, fish oils, chicory root, prebiotics and all sorts of other good #2 things - though, I wouldn’t recommend the dry, of course to a diabetic kitty.
I add chia to her food. When she was on canned food it had flax as the fibre, and I added pumpkin. But the pumpkin bothers her tummy. She seems to be doing okay with the chia but I'll keep psyllium in mind as an add-on. Do you know when I'd see it start to work, if it was going to work?
I worry about changing things too quickly.

I started her on a fish oil a few weeks ago, but I noticed she is scratching her ears and face more. I wonder if the fish oil is the culprit, or if she has developed an allergy to something else in her food (egg, chicken liver):banghead:. I removed the fish oil just in case, but her vet says a food elimination for determining a skin allergy would have to be done for eight weeks before I might see a difference. Sooo complicated.
 
Hi Lyla, I didn't check in yesterday, I'm sorry Butters had a seizure.
They can be very upsetting to watch I know because Perry used to get the very frequently in the beginning.
Thankfully Butters doesn't.
Perry never had any neurological damage at all.
He did have to be put on phenobarbital and Keppra because they were
happening often.
Then all of a sudden I started to lower his dose on both meds and he never had one since I lowered them. Probably didn't have any for almost 2 years before he passed
because of the kidneys.
My vet had no idea why he started having them in the first place
I pray that Butters doesn't have any more .
Her numbers are looking awesome
Wishing both if you a peaceful night . Give her a kiss for me ok ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Is your PMPS at 3 PM? o_O

Interesting that you add chia. I never thought of that as an option. Today I started adding powdered pumpkin to Ruby's food in the hopes it would remain undetected and it worked. Have a boring night! ;) :bighug:
 
Back
Top