? 03/28 Henry PMPS 95, +1 81, +3 72, +4 68, question about shooting tomorrow morning.

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Angelaf44, Mar 28, 2021.

  1. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Previous

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-27-henry-pmps-79-1-86-2-67-3-63.245331/#post-2768287

    Hi everyone,

    Henry has decided to suddenly throw solid greens at me the last 2 cycles, looks like this one will stay green as well.

    I'm worried about shooting 1u tomorrow morning as I return to work- I won't be able to monitor him from +1 to +9. My mom is home and can feed him, but she cannot test him.

    What do you all recommend? Do you think he'll be okay with 1u or should I reduce his dose tomorrow morning?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Any chance you can move your shot times so that you can get a +2 before you head to work?
     
  3. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    I definitely can, but it would be too late to start tomorrow morning right? I'm also not home immediately after work sometimes so if I'm doing 2 hours earlier it will be tight for me. He'll be getting his shot late in the evening.
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you move the shot time up by one hour, would you not be able to get a +2 before you leave for work?

    You can move up by half an hour every morning.
     
  5. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    I shoot him 30 minutes before I leave for work. If I move it up 1 hour I'd be able to get a +1.5 test before I leave.

    Okay so if I move it up half an hour tomorrow morning, I can get a +1. Is that what you suggest? If his reading is indicative of an active cycle I won't be able to stay home unless he is really close to 50 at +1.

    Thank you for your help!
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    His onset seems to be after +1. Could be at +1.5 or +2. A test at +1.5 should give you some indication of the cycle ahead. If you can get a +2 that would be even better.
    See what you can manage around your schedule. We have to work within the constraints we have! :)

    What% carbs are you feeding? One option is to feed slightly higher carbs in the AM cycle.
     
  7. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Okay I'll see how what changes I can make to his schedule.

    Everything I feed him is below 10%, most under 5%. I have some 14% my mom can feed him throughout the day.
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    No. That would be too high. I meant feed 6-8% carbs in early part of AM cycle (say at +1 and +2) so he has some buffer. Till you get higher carbs you could add a bit of the 14% to increase carbs.

    For now he seems to be doing okay in the AM cycle - staying in safe greens without needing any higher carb intervention.

    I see you feed at PS, +4 and +8? Maybe feed at PS, +2, +4 and +6?
     
  9. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Okay I understand regarding the feeding. I just found some 10% I have in the back of my pantry I forgot about. Perhaps I can mix that in rather than the 14%.

    I'll let my mom know to adjust the feeding times. Thank you!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page