04/03 Butters PMPS 67/+2.5 85

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday I announced in Butters's condo that she doesn't really ever play in the morning.

Today, Butters played this morning around +5.:confused: I'm pretty sure she read her yesterday condo and just wants to be defiant, but I'll take it:joyful:. She played a short game of volleyball on my bed and trotted back and forth between the front and back windowsills.

This morning is cycle one of .625u.

Surf safely, kitties.:cat::bighug:
 
keep up with Jax and Kit at the next full moon party
Just wanted to be honest that Benji cannot counter jump so he's in training too (he retired longggggg ago...he used to make it to the top of our fridge via the counter).

morning around +5
This is AMPS+5, right? Good work for daytime playing, Butters! Much better than PMPS+5 lol.

Happy reduction day :D
 
Come on butters!

Curious why 1/8U reduction? She seems to hold reductions well? Is it just better when you go down the ladder and get closer to no insulin shave doses vs full 0.25 U reduction?
 
It is so nice to hear about Butters playing. It's been so long since Pearl has played (probably almost a year now). I miss how wild she used to be lol. Butters looks great today and reduction so far!
 
maniac, maniac
Well now I'll be up all night with this song in my head:p. I sang it to Butters this morning when she started playing again.
Congrats on the reducie! I always wondered what that would be like to earn one from nice flat greens over 7 days, it seems so much less dramatic than the other ways :D
Thanks! Butters seems to have retired from her position as Drama Queen. Reductions after 7 days of green are so...uneventful. I am grateful for it:joyful:.
Curious why 1/8U reduction? She seems to hold reductions well? Is it just better when you go down the ladder and get closer to no insulin shave doses vs full 0.25 U reduction?
I tried to reduce her from .75u to .5u last month, and it was maybe a failed reduction, so I decided to go back to doing shaves for her. I say "maybe failed", because I had also done a fur shot, and I may not have given the depot enough time to rebuild. It was my decision to take her back up to .75u because I really have no patience with watching her go from almost all green, to lots of blue. I want to keep her as green as possible, for as long as my life allows:joyful:.

No, it's not better to do shaves, even in lower doses. Reductions are taken in .25u increments. Shaves are for cats who don't hold reductions well, which is true for butters historically. Look at her 2020 spreadsheet early on. She was constantly bobbling up and down with her dose and getting nowhere close to tightly regulated for almost the first four months after diagnosis. I started doing shaved reductions for her back then. Where you see her holding full reductions, it was after I had to chase some glucose toxicity and I had been continually taking increases. Once I broke through that, she did a little run down the dosing ladder, so was holding those .25u reductions.
 
to be honest that Benji cannot counter jump so he's in training too (he retired longggggg ago...he used to make it to the top of our fridge via the counter).
Wellll, let's see if we can get our kitties all trained up, lol. but I don't think it's cheating if you help him get there:joyful:. A little boost, perhaps? Butters has never been able to counter jump from the floor. She counter jumps from the back of the sofa. I'm hoping the goal is the cat on the counter, not how the cat got onto the counter:cat:.
This is AMPS+5, right? Good work for daytime playing, Butters! Much better than PMPS+5 lol.
:joyful::joyful::joyful: Good point! Thankfully, yes, it was AMPS+5.
 
the goal is the cat on the counter,
+1
with extra style points for avoiding the stove top while it's hot
upload_2021-4-3_22-24-50.png

we actually have a whole system in place for that to keep kit safe.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-3_22-24-50.png
    upload_2021-4-3_22-24-50.png
    4.2 KB · Views: 91
Back
Top