04-03 Djoko amps 151; +2= 76 ; + 4H30 = 46; pmps =261!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Marj & Djoko, Mar 4, 2021.

  1. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It might be time to let hm earn a reduction so you don’t need the syrup. He’s used to normal numbers so it just must work. What do you think?
     
  3. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    I am wondering that too. Is it the time to get to 1U? His PS are still in the high blue (so on AT2 would be yellow).
    Do you think if I keep doing what I am doing with syrup that he could get closer to green PS ? I am seeking you advice on this one.
    Today, without syrup, he would have earned a reduction because with food and 1/4 tsp of maple syrup, he increased from 52 to 59. I did not give him more maple syrup after last test. I fed him a little and will see if he is stable.

    Is it hurtful for him syrup?
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    As long as the syrup doesn’t upset his tummy it’s fine to give it to him. His food has 0 carbs since for you to add a little syrup makes it mc. If you constantly need to give hc it’s a signal that a reduction should happen but not with mc. Does this help or have a confused you?
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I forgot one thing. Don’t compare to the AT, even in your mind. Please. It won’t help you. :bighug:
     
    Marj & Djoko likes this.
  6. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    His food has carbs : 70g of proteins, 56 g of brown rice and veggies.

    but brown rice is not like white rice- it does not peak your insulin as it takes more time to digest.

    The syrup is to create the equivalent of MC or HC. He has vomited 4 times since I have giving him the royal cans in 2 weeks which is a lot. on his home cooked diet, he has vomited 4 times in the last 4-6 months. So the diet really helps his tummy. He does not seem to have a bad reaction. it is really to help him surf. other kitties can have MC or HC, he cannot. He does bad with commercial cans.

    I am not sure. I do not want to ruin these efforts. I am very tired but it seems to be worth it. :)
     
  7. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    oh well, i did not add more maple syrup and now in the lime so i guess i have to reduce :(
     
  8. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    i should have tested before to avoid this. i am a bit mad at myself. he wont do as well at 1U.
     
  9. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Congrats on the reduction, though! You never know, maybe it will hold! You've been doing a lot of propping with syrup lately.
    If his numbers don't hold at 1U, that could be a failed reduction and then you can increase back to 1.25u sooner than 6 - 10 cycles.
     
  10. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    I know but I don't have the same tools that you have. I don't give him MC or HC so I mix syrup and food to get the equivalent. Here, people give their cats MC and HC on a daily basis and there are no issues.
    I am not happy with that at all. And you can come back, but it takes time... oh well!
     
  11. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I also mix syrup into butters's food to get the equivalent, Marj, and butters gets a homemade raw diet:). With butters also haviing chronic pancreatitis and CKD, I never give her MC or HC food unless she will not come up from syrup. I think I've only had to use HC one time.

    Just don't hold the 1u for long...at the first sign that his numbers are creeping, declare it a failed reduction and go right back up to 1.25u. Ask Elise, but that's what I'd do fwiw.
     
  12. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Oh I did not know that :). Djoko has chronic pancreatitis and CKD too as you may know. Yes, I think Elise will agree but will wait for her benediction. lol
     
  13. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    you have PS in the green almost all the time. That was the goal before reducing. Butters looks good!
     
  14. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Lol! 100% agree about Elise!
    yes, I know poor Djoko is dealing with similar issues. It's so much more complicated dealing with FD when managing multiple conditions:banghead:. Butters is also in need of dental work now, too. Not to the same extent as Djoko, but will still require a dental specialist:banghead:.
     
  15. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    I thought you could not do it with his heart? Still have not made my mind. I think 5,000$ is exaggerated and there are risks.
     
  16. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    apparently, it is 3 times after the skip so one more chance!
     
  17. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    $5000 seems crazy...Butters's four night hospital stay was $7500...not an apples to apples comparison but I don't get how it could be $5000 for a dental even with anesthesia and an anesthesiologist monitoring him.
    You're right, I can't do it unless her heart improves but I only just found out on Friday that she even needed a dental. Up until then I was told her teeth were fine.

    Oh yay! That's great news!
     
  18. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    back to his old self ;). Mr Bouncy boy.
     

Share This Page