Pabs&Ro
Member Since 2020
Pabay has been diabetic due to pancreatitis since June 2018. He is on his third insulin commencing Lantus on 1st April 2021. He commenced on a lower dose than pro-zinc of 1 unit. We have had better shaped curves than we have ever had but too high and it was looking promising.
I was out all day yesterday and in the evening his PMPS was 277. Low for Pabay but a lot of you will think this is too high and I agree but it is not for Pabay at the moment. I tested 20 minutes later and it was rising. I spoke to the vet last night and she recommended a dose increase of 0.25 units.
This morning he was uncharacteristically hungry and had an extreme thirst - one of the worst incidents of this: driven to drink as much as possible for over 2 hours. I had to manage it to keep the food inside him. This indicates a bounce to me.
I wonder if he was too low (for him) during the day on 5th April and again even lower on 6th April (due to low PMPS) and had a bad bounce last night.
Today Pabay is flat lining just above and below the 360 mark which he has not done since we commenced lantus.
I know this can happen when the dose is increased - dose wonkiness. However, given the low day time numbers and the high flat night numbers with extreme thirst I am just wondering if you think we should have reduced the dose rather than increased it.
Do I need to hold my nerve?
I was out all day yesterday and in the evening his PMPS was 277. Low for Pabay but a lot of you will think this is too high and I agree but it is not for Pabay at the moment. I tested 20 minutes later and it was rising. I spoke to the vet last night and she recommended a dose increase of 0.25 units.
This morning he was uncharacteristically hungry and had an extreme thirst - one of the worst incidents of this: driven to drink as much as possible for over 2 hours. I had to manage it to keep the food inside him. This indicates a bounce to me.
I wonder if he was too low (for him) during the day on 5th April and again even lower on 6th April (due to low PMPS) and had a bad bounce last night.
Today Pabay is flat lining just above and below the 360 mark which he has not done since we commenced lantus.
I know this can happen when the dose is increased - dose wonkiness. However, given the low day time numbers and the high flat night numbers with extreme thirst I am just wondering if you think we should have reduced the dose rather than increased it.
Do I need to hold my nerve?