? 04/12 Henry AMPS 86, lower dose?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Angelaf44, Apr 12, 2022.

  1. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Hi everyone,

    Henry's been doing pretty well over the past 14 days, pretty solid greens throughout.

    I dropped his dose down to 1 unit this morning, I didn't have time to post here before work. He cannot be tested during the day when I'm at work at that drop to 70 last night kind of scared me a bit.

    Did I do the right thing? I know this isn't following the tight regulation protocol exactly in terms of decreasing.

    Any other thoughts or opinions very much appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    There is more than one way to earn a reduction in TR:

    Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
    • reduction earned after a single drop below 40 mg/dL or
    • reduction earned after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on 3 separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well or
    • reduction earned when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
    Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

    Henry may have qualified for a reduction based on the 3rd criteria - a week in largely normal numbers.
     
    Angelaf44 likes this.
  3. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Thank you Bhooma. So I guess I'll see how he does on 1 unit and report back in a few days?
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Try and get as many tests as you can - TR requires at least 2 tests per cycle - one preshot and one mid-cycle. If he stays in normal numbers for a week, he earns a reduction to 0.75U.
     
    Angelaf44 likes this.
  5. Angelaf44

    Angelaf44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Gotcha. Thanks very much for your help again!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page