04/18, Nestle, AMPS 56, PMPS 83

Just saw this. This early in the cycle I would have fed him HC.
A drop below 50 is always higher carbs - especially early in the cycle.

Any more tests after +3.25?
 
Just reproducing the relevant portions of the low numbers sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

"
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out."
 
Just saw that you took a second reduction to 2.25U? We don't take back-to-back reductions with TR since the depot takes 4 cycles to adjust. The numbers you are seeing are still the higher depot (2.75U) at play.
If he has flipped a switch and is racing down the dosing ladder, the reduction may hold, but usually back-to-back reductions do not.
 
Just saw that you took a second reduction to 2.25U? We don't take back-to-back reductions with TR since the depot takes 4 cycles to adjust. The numbers you are seeing are still the higher depot (2.75U) at play.
If he has flipped a switch and is racing down the dosing ladder, the reduction may hold, but usually back-to-back reductions do not.

Oh no. I did not know that :(:banghead:
Should I go back to 2.5 tomorrow morning then?
 
Oh no. I did not know that :(:banghead:
Should I go back to 2.5 tomorrow morning then?
Are you home the next few days to test? Let's see how this cycle plays out. If he bounces, go back to 2.5U. If not, you could stay with the 2.25U and see if it holds. Him not bouncing could be an ear indication of him having flipped a switch and racing down the dosing ladder.
 
Are you home the next few days to test? Let's see how this cycle plays out. If he bounces, go back to 2.5U. If not, you could stay with the 2.25U and see if it holds. Him not bouncing could be an ear indication of him having flipped a switch and racing down the dosing ladder.

I'm home all day tomorrow. Then I work all day on Wednesday and will be away for the night. I'll be back Thursday early afternoon but my bf is off during those days so he can keep an eye on him.

Right now @+2 he's 155 so maybe the bounce is coming...
 
Back
Top