04/26 Pookie AMPS 112 +2 68 +4 50 +6 67 +8 74 PMPS 101 +1 95 +2 76

Pookie kyle/Dalton

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-24-pookie-amps-167-3-56-4-54-5-49.246565/

good morning everyone i hope everyone had an amazing weekend ! pookies been doing quite well especially today< i just did a test at 12;30 in the afternoon and pookie is right on 50 !! since he hit 50 does this mean I should again lower his dose .25 tonight or no? this morning was only cycle 5 of being back down to 1.75, going to feed him now and then test again in an hour
 
upload_2021-4-26_12-41-59.jpeg

lol pookie after this mornings meal and insulin dose !!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-26_12-41-59.jpeg
    upload_2021-4-26_12-41-59.jpeg
    48.5 KB · Views: 88
Going by TR newly diagnosed he did not drop below 50

You can add to your title Should I reduce ? and see what others say
He's too darn cute, he looks stuffed lol

Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
 
He did earn one on 4/24 with that dip to 49.
I think they didn't take it because they tried 2u the night before (cycle 1 of increase from 1.75u) and then forgot to dose 2u the next morning. Not sure if that still means to decrease or not :p

Dalton/Kyle - are you all feeding more the first part of the cycle? I would have fed the 68 (LC) and then IMHO I'd feed MC at the 50 and test in 30 minutes to see which way Pookie is going.
 
I think they didn't take it because they tried 2u the night before (cycle 1 of increase from 1.75u) and then forgot to dose 2u the next morning. Not sure if that still means to decrease or not :p

Dalton/Kyle - are you all feeding more the first part of the cycle? I would have fed the 68 (LC) and then IMHO I'd feed MC at the 50 and test in 30 minutes to see which way Pookie is going.
yes I did !! i fed him a small meal around 10:30 and then I did again after just a small meal when he was at the 50, i had to go out quick but tested him when I got back at +6 and he is back to 67
 
Elise I'm wondering why he didn't reduce when he got the 49
Did it have to do with the 2 units he shot at PMPS on 4-23
@tiffmaxee

Here is the condo from 4-23
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...8-124-pmps-223-2-180-176.246525/#post-2781210
I think we forgot to reduce, dalton usually shoots his morning shots and he forgot to go back to 2.00, so as his decrease dose we just left at 1.75 and counted that towards his decrease, we were going to put him back up to 2.00 that night but since he got to 49 we decided to leave it !! next time should we not do that and reduce down to say 1.50
 
I think we forgot to reduce, dalton usually shoots his morning shots and he forgot to go back to 2.00, so as his decrease dose we just left at 1.75 and counted that towards his decrease, we were going to put him back up to 2.00 that night but since he got to 49 we decided to leave it !! next time should we not do that and reduce down to say 1.50
Stay where you are right now with the 1.75 units if he drops below 50 then reduce to 1.50 units. Everything is good :cat:
 
Back
Top