04/28 Bubba +11.75 70; +12 81; +12.25 77; +12.5 83; AMPS/+13 68; +2 101; +3 95; +5 67; +7 128...

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
yesterday

Last night at +6, Bubba was 3.8 / 68. I was too exhausted/stressed to stay up to monitor Bubba, so my dad said he would take over. He measured Bubba's sugars at +7.25 - he misread the meter - he thought it was 8.3/149 but the meter actually says 3.6 / 65. I have no idea if Bubba went super low last night and am freaking out.

Right now Bubba's AMPS is only 3.9 / 70. I am SUPER hesitant to administer his AM insulin.

Do I HOLD the insulin this morning and not give it at all?
WAIT? Test sugars in 15 and see if it went up?

I have no idea what to do

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Bubba finally ate about 1/2? of his breakfast... it's now 15 minutes past AM shot time. I will recheck sugars in about 5 minutes. He is on raw, so his food is low carb. I have some medium (I think) carb First Mate wild salmon canned pate food I could try to give to bump his sugars? But I also don't want to "artificially inflate" his sugars too for him to crash later.
 
It's now approx 45 minutes past Bubba's shot time...

His sugars are bobbing around the same # with no significant increase as the depot is wearing off...

I'm going to try to feed him some medium carb canned? and see what he does
 
You are on TR protocol, right? I've been told to administer dose as normal unless below 50. And I've given my girl shots many times under 70. TR is pretty aggressive but that's intentional. Per the stickied protocol, you could be headed toward a dose reduction, which would be great. I've done shots under 70 quite a few times but I also know my cat well and when she starts getting low like that I test more frequently (less in fear and more in hopes of numbers low enough to do a reduction).
I'm not a mod or anything I've just been following TR for a few months now.
 
You are on TR protocol, right? I've been told to administer dose as normal unless below 50. And I've given my girl shots many times under 70. TR is pretty aggressive but that's intentional. Per the stickied protocol, you could be headed toward a dose reduction, which would be great. I've done shots under 70 quite a few times but I also know my cat well and when she starts getting low like that I test more frequently (less in fear and more in hopes of numbers low enough to do a reduction).
I'm not a mod or anything I've just been following TR for a few months now.

Thanks Jennifer for your reply! Since this is the lowest pre-shot number Bubba has had thus far, I was hesitant to shoot; especially since he didn't eat much yesterday nor this morning (at first). I gave him some medium carb food just now and gave him his dose.
 
Generally, with TR, you want to "shoot low to stay low." However, Bubba hasn't had that many lower pre-shot numbers. Looking at 4/22, one difference is that you saw that the pre-shot numbers were rising. This morning is a bit different in that the +13 was lower than your previous tests.

With shooting low, it can help to remember that you will be feeding your cat and that the insulin from the previous shot is wearing off (and numbers are likely to rise) and that it takes a couple of hours for the onset of the current shot. With a cat that is just starting to have lower numbers, there are also some additional considerations. To shoot low, you need to be around to monitor and have strips and high carb food on hand. With having shot, you should still monitor to be sure that Bubba doesn't surprise you.
 
After stalling for 1 hour, I gave Bubba his regular dose of 7.5U. He just ate some medium carb canned food / finished his breakfast. I was hesitant to give him his regular dose at regular shot time since he didn't eat much.

Let's see what today brings. I and others will be home to monitor him.
 
Generally, with TR, you want to "shoot low to stay low." However, Bubba hasn't had that many lower pre-shot numbers. Looking at 4/22, one difference is that you saw that the pre-shot numbers were rising. This morning is a bit different in that the +13 was lower than your previous tests.

With shooting low, it can help to remember that you will be feeding your cat and that the insulin from the previous shot is wearing off (and numbers are likely to rise) and that it takes a couple of hours for the onset of the current shot. With a cat that is just starting to have lower numbers, there are also some additional considerations. To shoot low, you need to be around to monitor and have strips and high carb food on hand. With having shot, you should still monitor to be sure that Bubba doesn't surprise you.


Thank you! I appreciate your response.

Bubba didn't eat much of his breakfast this morning and the fact he had a lower than usual pre-shot # hence my hesitancy... I fed him some canned medium carb food (he gobbled it all up and looks so happy now, haha!) and will be around to monitor / feed carbs as needed.
 
Homeboy went back down to 3.7mmol / 67 !! He's way perky this morning after some MC food with his raw breakfast.
I fed him another snack of raw + First Mate MC wild pacific salmon at +5 too. He's lying down, relaxing and bathing away!
 
PMPS 221

Bubba only nibbled some food 1hr post PM shot.....not too hungry in afternoon/evening. He did eat really good earlier in the day; guess he was too full. He did nibble some dinner on his own, and I also spoon fed some to him as well (he ate it off the spoon) - he had raw + a little bit of the MC First Mate wild salmon to entice an appetite. He's been relaxing on the (enclosed!) patio for the last while, enjoying the fresh air!
 
+5 from PMPS 95...a nice green! :Do_O

My poor precious guy... he tried to poop x2 today (AM and evening) - with no poop either time (I figured one was coming eventually); then low and behold I walk downstairs and a fat smelly log is on the floor along with emesis x2 :(
I wonder if he vomited from trying to poop too hard... that happened to him one day last February when he had an acute bout of constipation, never happened since :blackeye:

I gave him a nice warm bath and now it's as if he's brand new!
 
+7 68 from PMPS mom gave Bubba MC wild salmon plus raw to surf the green and not dip
+8 92 from PMPS
 
Last edited:
Back
Top