04/30 Bubba AMPS 76; +1 83; +2.5 77; +3.5 56; +4.5 68; +6 94; +8 155; PMPS 185; +2 182; +4 149

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
yesterday

Bubba earned his second REDUCTION! after some limes last night... thankfully I was home for this prime-lime event and Bubba's sugars increased after about 2hours - with the help of mini feedings of MC food + some honey.

@Wendy&Neko

Bubba is 4.2 / 76 this morning... should I still give his new dose of 7U or half the dose of 3.5U? since he had limes last night...

Thank you!

Bubba was purring away during his ear check
 
Last edited:
I gave Bubba his full newly reduced dose of 7U. I can be home to monitor. I a tsp of MC food to his raw/breakfast this morning. I couldn't hold off any longer, especially since I am trying to walk back his insulin shot times (from having stalled on 04/28) to his regular time and am failing miserably due to these new low numbers! This boy!!!

I will recheck his sugars @ +1 and +2
 
Last edited:
I went back to sleep for a while, so mom took over.
She's tested every hour so far, and is "feeding the curve" - his usual raw + a tsp or so of MC food to ensure Bubba doesn't dippie doo da too low. So far, so good it seems!
 
Good to hear your mom is letting you sleep, to make up for last night.

I like Bhooma's suggestion. If you are fighting lows today, or see a low tonight and need to sleep, a BCS is fine to help drain the depot. It didn't take him long to recover from the last BCS.
 
Bubba breezing to the blues… I’m honestly ok with that. Gives me 5 minutes to breath LOL

He was fed MC along with raw at +2.5, 3.5, and 4.5. I think a teeny bit at +6 as well. Probably didn’t need it for the last two but my mom was worried about dropping lol
 
I gave Bubba his full PM dose of 7U since he was 10.3 / 185.
He’s been relaxing today, watching us cook on the BBQ and had two giant poops - all in a days work for a cat!
 
Dosing Times Q:

I know when administering lantus insulin consistency is key.
Normally, Bubba's shot times are 0615 & 1815 - I do this so I can at least give his AM shots on my Dx shifts & PM shots on my Nx shifts, so my parents don't have to give ALL of his shots on my working days/nights.
**Is it ok to allow for 15min variance on a regular basis?** For example, 0630/1830 on my days off and 0615/1815 on my working days. I am beyond exhausted with the current schedule and having an extra 15-20 min of sleep in the AM would help immensely. I feel the burn out nipping at my heels.

I'm aware 15-20min is ok sometimes/on special occasions, but am unsure if it's ok on a regular / consistent basis.
 
Yes, you have leeway to move shot times 15 minutes per shot on a regular basis. You can move shots 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes once per day, without much impact.
 
Back
Top