? 05/16 Eddie AMPS 284 +8 347 PMPS 284 +8 358

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jodey&Eddie&Blue, May 16, 2024.

  1. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Continuing on the Cartrophen discussion - I first started giving it to cats almost 15 years ago. It's off label for cats, that just means no formal studies done but informally lots done. I managed to convince my vet to fill the Cartrophen in an insulin syringe that I could take home and give myself. That mean no extra trip for kitties (Neko and her buddy) and insulin syringe had a much smaller needle than the huge needles they first gave me. The economics of Cartrophen (once opened, bottle has short shelf life) means it's not worth buying a vial to take home, unless you have a ton of heavy animals on it.

    Keep eating Eddie, please.
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  4. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Sending support. Hope Eddie is eating :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hu Jodey, I hope Eddie continues to eat for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  6. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I was about to message you. I just got off the phone with the vet we like and she is on board with Cartrophen. She's going to give me the cartorpehn which I can keep in the fridge and do the loading regime: once a week for 4 weeks and then once a month.

    The only thing we didn't know is the dose for cats. For my dogs it was .15ml every 7 days and then once a month. Do you remember the dosing protocol?

    Lastly, 6u and he's creeping up. At least it's creeping and not stratospheric but should I consider 7u by the weekend?

    Also, I remember that Cartrophen is just sub-q, like insulin, right?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2024
    Reason for edit: more information
  7. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    PM 284. Playing the interminable food game again. He starts to eat and looks like all's well. I give insulin. He licks the food and stops. Will not eat. Really grumpy and so I'm trying not to push it. Try to give him his thyroxine tablet and he spits it out and runs away. This really can't go on. I have to walk away from him because I'm getting angry and so I can't pass that on. This really can't go on.
     
    Mazi's Mom likes this.
  8. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I have so many different cans and tubes and toppers open just trying to get him to eat, coaxing, cajoling, encouraging, wanting to force him but not. Now he's running away from me.

    I gave him (well, I made him take) Ondansetron, just in case.

    I'm desperate but I just cannot force him to eat.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2024
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Dosing of Cartrophen was by weight of animal. Found this for you: https://cartrophen.ca/for-vets/ There is a dosage calculator. Basically it's 3mg/kg or 0.03 ml/kg of animal.

    Shooting Cartrophen is just like shooting insulin.

    Get your vet to double check with the distributor. I had one vet tell me that the vial is only good for so many days once opened. Another vet didn't know that, but double checked and heard the same thing. There was no way with too cat on cartrophen that it was cost effective for me to buy the vial. It was $$$$!

    I suspect 6 is not the magic number - but 6U depot should be full after tonight.
     

Share This Page