05/17 Eddie AMPS 427 +8 367 PMPS 319 +8 391

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jodey&Eddie&Blue, May 17, 2024.

  1. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Hello, here is yesterday:

    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...284-8-347-pmps-284-8-358.290071/#post-3179823

    Not wanting to eat. But then changes his mind and eats a bit. I take the shot. He starts eating. 10 seconds later he stops>

    Is he in pain? I give him 0.2ml Buprennorphine.

    Going to have to syringe feed.

    Update: now he hates me again. I don't know what to do. I really don't.

    Another update: I'm having a hard time because I'm in this alone and have to work and do everything for me and Eddie and the rest of the crew. I was feeling a bit down and when a friend of mine called to see how I was doing with Eddie, I told her about the latest and, being a nurse, she advised me to think about the unthinkable and maybe I should consider what I don't even want to say. I got off the phone quickly. I am so disturbed by all this already and now this "recommendation".
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2024
    Reason for edit: more information
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  3. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Have you considered tapering back the cabergoline to every other day? It sure seems the problems with eating, etc. became more exaggerated after the daily dosing started. Just thinking out loud.

    Sorry your friend brought up “that” topic. Sometimes the best of intentions make one feel worse. Hopefully a few tweaks will make a difference. :bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  4. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thanks, JL. I was so upset by that phone call. I also did not give Eddie Cabergoline today with just that change in mind so we'll see how he is when I'm home from work (I'm in my office now and have to teach soon).
    What do you think of the 0.2ml Buprennorphine instead of Gabapentin?
     
  5. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I used bupe a lot with Charlie and still prefer it over gabapentin. Just remember that bupe can be constipating.

    If you’re going to back off cabergoline, you might want to give it some time at the less frequent dosing before assessing success/failure. I’m not sure how long it stays in the system but I think it might have a longer half-life than many. I’d also try to change once one thing at a time—so maybe hold off on starting pain meds if you haven’t been giving them regularly.

    Sorry you’ve had such an upsetting day. Here’s hoping Eddie is bright and alert and hungry when you get home. :bighug:
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I (and Neko) preferred bupe over gapapentin too. I also like JL's suggested about tapering off the cabergoline and seeing if that helps.

    Some people just don't get that our furkids are very important family members. :( My friends the most sympathetic to us during Neko's time are still amongst our best friends.
     
  7. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    This is so true about family members. Some people just don't understand. This person would never suggest that if Eddie was a human person. Honestly, I was so upset I found it really hard to get into teaching headspace before I entered the class. The "suggestion" launched me into premature grief.
     
  8. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    thanks, JL. The thing about bupe is that he might not need it as frequently. I do have a number of pre-filled syringes given to me from his hospital discharge. If only I can find a middle path. I will, for example, take the less frequent dosing path and slowly see where this takes us. Eddie has been on Gabapentin for a long, long time and it doesn't seem to make much of a difference (every 8-10 hours). On my way home now. Don't know what I'll find.
     
  9. Gravy and Vicki

    Gravy and Vicki Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2024
    I'm so sorry. I haven't posted or been on much at all since my Gravy girl died, but I think of you all. I had people telling me as soon as my girl was diagnosed with diabetes , to put her to sleep. Ignore as much as you can (I know it's hard). At the end of the day it's between you and your kitty. When it was time, Gravy let me know she was done. You and Eddie will know when it is time. Other people opinions aren't important.
    Thinking of you all.
     
    Tiger(GA) and Ruth likes this.
  10. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Jodey, like the others have said, I had lots of unsolicited and well meaning advice from family and friends to put my Tiger to sleep as well. I close my ears to it now, someday they will realize just how unkind and unnecessary those comments are. I suspected you were on your own with Eddie and Max your dog. I was the same. My DH was incapable of doing any of the caregiving, he had just had a stroke. You are doing a fantastic job managine this and work, be kind to yourself and take good care of yourself. You are the world to Eddie and Max! Gentle hugs to Eddie, eat your fuds little guy!
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  11. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thank you so much, Ruth. It really helps hear your voices rather than the ones who speak without understanding.
     
  12. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    @Wendy&Neko earlier we had discussed increasing from 6u. We're at PM +8 367. If I can get him to eat, is increase to 7u appropriate or stay steady? When I tested him he was interested in Churu and he even played with a toy. Such contradictions...
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I agree on the increase, 6 U isn't proving anything.
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  14. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I wish I'd seen this sooner. Because of everything, I paused the increase hoping to see him eat. I was relieved to see him eat enough to give insulin so if i can keep him going I'll increase in the morning and I'm home, for the most part, all long weekend with him. I resorted to using a little of "Friskies l'il soups" and it worked for the most part. He didn't finish but he seemed interested and ate just enough.

    Another strange thing is happening. He has been residing and sleeping, even eating, on the big pillow in the dining room for well over a year. After this last fiasco (OD Mirtazapine?), he does not want to go to his pillow any more. He now want to be in the living room on a chair or on the rug. He even played with a toy. I'm thinking, on the one hand, the Buprennorphine instead of Gabapentin is making him feel better. I know I feel better that he ate enough.

    Oh, gosh, this has been an action packed two weeks. I'm hoping things will quieten down, even for a few days. We'll see.

    Goodnight, Everyone. Thank you. :cat::)
     
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I've described buprenorphine as a game changer for Neko. She went from hanging out on a bed not interacting much with us, to wanting to spend more time with us, and playing!
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  16. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    It's true! Like right now he's in the living room on the couch! He never goes on the couch! But it's also the playing!! Like what!!!??
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.
  17. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    PM +8 he may be in high numbers but he came when called for a treat and his BG test. Gave him buprenorphine to start the day and will be changing up on a few things. Vet emailed last night to say she has ordered Cartrophen. I've noticed Eddie has a hard time picking up little pieces of a treat from the floor so his mouth (jaw?) is probably the source of many issues.
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.

Share This Page