05/20 Butters PMPS 121/+3 119

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday
Today, Butters is much the same as yesterday but with the added bonus of needing to be coerced into eating this evening. Her face is still puffy and she is still very lethargic. I don't think I gave her enough bupe this morning because she started pawing at her mouth again this afternoon. :( Sorry Butters.
Time to put on the patience pants and wait and see if the antibiotic helps her. It is shaping up to be a long week.

Her numbers are about the same today, so I'm continuing to hold the dose especially since I am a little worried that her appetite is waning.

Surf safely, kitties:cat:
 
Butters (and you) are on my heart. I am a little concerned about antibiotics hurting her kidneys. I don't know what else you can do though. Especially since you don't know what the cause of her pain is. I hope it will help and not hurt:)
Thank you so much Kathy. I'm worried about her kidneys for sure but I don't know what else I can do. I hate having to give her antibiotics as a process of elimination, basically. So if she is still swollen at the end of seven days of clindamycin, then we can rule out infection and I will feel incredibly guilty for having put her through a course of antibiotics for no good reason. She has sooo many problems, though, so I guess I just feel like I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place. I don't have many options for what to do but I need to try something.

An allergic reaction to a new food or medicine could also cause facial swelling...
The only thing was she had recently started getting cisapride. Her last dose was Saturday night but the swelling has continued. Otherwise, everything has been the same.
There are so many things that could be causing swelling. Like a heart problem. Sigh.
 
Just for the heck of it, I'm assuming you are checking for ketones periodically. Not that it's likely of course.

Paws crossed for the AB, hopefully you'll start seeing improvement tomorrow. I always find day 2 the good one.

Scritches to sweet Butters. :bighug::bighug:
 
Just for the heck of it, I'm assuming you are checking for ketones periodically. Not that it's likely of course.

Paws crossed for the AB, hopefully you'll start seeing improvement tomorrow. I always find day 2 the good one.

Scritches to sweet Butters. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks Wendy. I hope I see an improvement tomorrow. It hasn't been a good day for her. And her BG numbers are definitely continuing to creep up. It makes me wonder if something else is going on. Tonight is the first night in ages that she has stayed >100 @+3. I'm torn about whether or not to increase. Maybe I should give her one more day to turn things around before I increase.
I check for ketones periodically using a blood ketone meter. So far nothing, so at least that's good.
 
I'm so sorry to hear that Butters is still not getting better and compounding things by not eating. I know the worry you face and commiserate with you. :bighug: Sending lots of healing vines and hopes that the antibiotics will have some effect.
 
I'm really worried about Butters. This is so strange. You must be sick with worry. I am praying for her to turn around. You are doing the right thing in trying the antibiotics. I'm so sorry that she's not eating. I wish that she could be seen by the cardiologist before July so you could get some more definitive answers. A steroid injection is probably off the table with her heart problem (just trying to think of what could take the swelling down.) Antihistamines? Zyrtec, Allegra, Cyproheptadine and others can be used in cats (if your vet thought it would be safe.) Hopefully, though, you will see improvement starting by at least tomorrow morning from the Antirobe.
 
Back
Top