? 05/30 Mrs. Jones AMPS 396 +5 334 Query Re: PM Shot

MissyCat6

Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-29-mrs-jones-amps-396-6-151pmps-1-167-2-91-8.290581/

Hello! I've posted the link from my last post above and the SS is up to date. We had some lows last night. It took from 8pm-10pm to manage a stubborn low of 52 with the arrow on the reader pointing downward. We bumped her up to around 270 so we could go to sleep. The reader alarm was turned on so we would be alerted if she tanked.

Question:
There are some lows at night (maybe a pattern since she switched to no carb wet), we feed the higher calorie wet food; we use corn syrup if it is 52 and going down. She pops up, stays high at night and into the morning. We couldn't have possibly given her 1.0 iu last night as even at 0.5-0.75 she tanked. How do we manage this pattern? What would happen if her gluc dropped to a reasonable level throughout the day, she eats her can of no carb wet food and we don't give her a shot tonight? I know when asking this that Lantus is best on twice a day and we were custom dosing. We also meet with our vet tomorrow for a sensor change. Thanks so much!
 
Im very new to this. Karamelle was diagnosed Dec '23 but I dont think you are dosing correctly. Are you using SLGS or TR? You are supposed to hold each dose at least 3 days (6 cycles) unless it drops below 90 for SLGS or 50 for TR. Not change the dose up and down each cycle because the BG went up or down. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee Im tagging some experts.
 
On this forum, both of our dosing methods use the low points, or nadirs, to determine how to change the dose, as I've mentioned before. Due to the nature of the Lantus depot, what you shot in previous cycles can impact the current cycle. I suspect 1.0 units is too much insulin, but can't tell you what her dose should be as there has been too much jumping around in dose.

50's on a Libre may or may not be as low as you think it is. The Libre often tests a lot lower than a hand held blood glucose meter would. If you have a hand held meter, it would be really helpful to test any low numbers you see, and see if you need to respond to it or not. You don't typically have to give corn syrup at a number in the 50's. I used to give some low carb food, to keep her steady. Each cat differs in how many carbs they need, so a slightly higher carb food like medium carb might be needed for another cat.

@JoM She is dosing per the vet, so we can't help her with dosing at this point.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Hello Wendy&Neko and JoM, thanks for your replies. We see the vet tomorrow. I think 1.0 iu is too much as well. We meet with our vet tomorrow and we'll use "hold each dose at least 3 days (6 cycles) unless it drops below 90" to frame the consult. Perhaps to give her food in the evening when she's at 52, is an anxious response. That gosh darn low gluc alarm is rather upsetting. We'll ask about a handheld meter too. Thanks very much for your feedback, we're trying really hard to mange it, but it is difficult. We'll count a full week on wet food as the victory for this week. :)
 
Back
Top