Malia
Member
Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-01-teja-amps-177-3-121.290676/
Hello Everyone, I am in need of help. I am worried that I have the insulin gestapo after Teja. I have been struggling this morning with Teja and her BG. She has been lower than she has ever been. And while 76 and 98 aren't bad, we are coming up on time for her insulin and I am worried about shooting this low, especially if I shoot what I have been shooting, 4 units.
She isn't eating that much and I am worried about that. I met with her vet on 05/30 and we made some changes. We recently reduced her dose of prednisolone to 1mg once daily, down from 1mg twice daily. We also increased her dose to 4 units, up from 3.5 units. Teja's internal medicine vet felt that she could handle 4 units. So on 05/31 I increased her insulin dose to 4 units. On that first day, her numbers were great, and she was eating. Then with the better numbers, she just lost interest in eating as much and turns her nose up at the food she was once eating. She will take a few licks and then turn her head away like she is done. She is such a cat!
I have a message in to her vet about reducing her dose and am waiting for a response. I am pretty sure she will tell me to stay the course with the 4 units.
Since we went below 90 this morning, I will be reducing her dose to 3.75 units. This is correct for the SLGS, right?
I know I didn't follow the protocol for increasing doses when I upped the dose to 4 units. That was me, caving to me vet, thinking she knew better than me. I have been so tired lately and not getting the best sleep so my brain isn't braining very well.
And when she was low this morning, she would lick at her food just a bit, but not enough to do anything to her glucose. I ended up syringe feeding her 30 mLs of her d/d (higher calorie) and water. That was at that +10 marker, as she was ranging between 90s and 80s. I know these are normal values, but I wanted to get her glucose up for her insulin shot as it wasn't exactly going up on its own.
I was also recommended by Wendy to up Teja's dose of cerenia to help with nausea, but that will be later this afternoon when she usually gets her cerenia (around 5pm Pacific).
Maybe she shouldn't be off of the steroid as it increases her appetite. But we have been working to get her off of the prednisolone for a month now, reducing, then letting her adjust.
I will also be giving her some mirataz this afternoon to help get her appetite up, while she adjusts to the steroid change. I am probably going to do it for the next 3 days.
What are your thoughts? Any suggestions and help would be greatly appreciated.
Hello Everyone, I am in need of help. I am worried that I have the insulin gestapo after Teja. I have been struggling this morning with Teja and her BG. She has been lower than she has ever been. And while 76 and 98 aren't bad, we are coming up on time for her insulin and I am worried about shooting this low, especially if I shoot what I have been shooting, 4 units.
She isn't eating that much and I am worried about that. I met with her vet on 05/30 and we made some changes. We recently reduced her dose of prednisolone to 1mg once daily, down from 1mg twice daily. We also increased her dose to 4 units, up from 3.5 units. Teja's internal medicine vet felt that she could handle 4 units. So on 05/31 I increased her insulin dose to 4 units. On that first day, her numbers were great, and she was eating. Then with the better numbers, she just lost interest in eating as much and turns her nose up at the food she was once eating. She will take a few licks and then turn her head away like she is done. She is such a cat!
I have a message in to her vet about reducing her dose and am waiting for a response. I am pretty sure she will tell me to stay the course with the 4 units.
Since we went below 90 this morning, I will be reducing her dose to 3.75 units. This is correct for the SLGS, right?
I know I didn't follow the protocol for increasing doses when I upped the dose to 4 units. That was me, caving to me vet, thinking she knew better than me. I have been so tired lately and not getting the best sleep so my brain isn't braining very well.
And when she was low this morning, she would lick at her food just a bit, but not enough to do anything to her glucose. I ended up syringe feeding her 30 mLs of her d/d (higher calorie) and water. That was at that +10 marker, as she was ranging between 90s and 80s. I know these are normal values, but I wanted to get her glucose up for her insulin shot as it wasn't exactly going up on its own.
I was also recommended by Wendy to up Teja's dose of cerenia to help with nausea, but that will be later this afternoon when she usually gets her cerenia (around 5pm Pacific).
Maybe she shouldn't be off of the steroid as it increases her appetite. But we have been working to get her off of the prednisolone for a month now, reducing, then letting her adjust.
I will also be giving her some mirataz this afternoon to help get her appetite up, while she adjusts to the steroid change. I am probably going to do it for the next 3 days.
What are your thoughts? Any suggestions and help would be greatly appreciated.