? 06/03 Blue (AM No shot 101), BLUE IS HOME!!! PMPS 214 +8 160

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jodey&Eddie&Blue, Jun 3, 2023.

  1. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Hello Everyone,

    here's yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-02-blue-amps-160-update-pmps-146.278183/

    I'm so excited! Blue is HOME!! As I said, I spoke with the vet nurse this morning (5:00am) and Blue had yet to poop. I then agreed with the clinic that he might well feel more comfortable to use the kitty box if he was at home. I called them back @ 9:00am to tell them I decided to bring him home instead of just visiting him there in the clinic. They weren't available at the time but while I was in the car to go and get some cat food for Eddie and the crew, the phone rang and it was the vet who announced "He has pooped!!!" And we were kind of shouting in celebration about that. She said though that he hadn't pooped out everything so to be prepared for that to happen at home. She also said that around the same time they noticed the NG tube had broken so they removed it.

    I picked Eddie's food and cat grass and some kale salad (for me :)) and drove to the clinic for Blue. When he was brought to me in the examination room, the vet nurse said "You'll be glad to know that after you got off the phone he pooped enough for 3 large cats!" She said they were all shouting happily in the clinic when that happened.

    I don't know about y'all but somehow I think something "cosmic" happened (call it magical thinking if you like). When I decided earlier that instead of leaving Blue in the clinic and visiting him, I would bring him home, I felt as if a tension had dissolved, as if I had just surrendered the hyper-focussed position of having him in the clinic because I was fearful I couldn't care for him like they could. I thought, "Maybe I'm wrong" and "maybe it would be a good idea for him to be at home". So, the "cosmic" part of this is that he appears to have pooped (time-wise) around the same time I decided he was coming home. I had even phone the vet but they couldn't talk to me as they were doing rounds. And, the broken NG line??

    So, here we are. I let Blue out of the carrier. He immediately peed in the box and then walked (a little clunkily) into the kitchen and I offered him a little food. He ended up eating a bowl of food. He's now on one of his favourite stairs in the back (it gets sun) and is sleeping like a boss.

    They didn't give him insulin after they took his BG this morning: 101. So, we'll see what tonight brings (does anyone know why it costs $18.91 for them to take a BG reading in the clinic. :rolleyes:)

    Phew. I think I'll take a nap.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you everyone for your support. :cat:
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Prices fir things are crazy high. I just paid $88 for fluids to be administered and 10 ondansetron.
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Hi Jodey well all I have to say is Happy Dance For Pooping :p

    This made my day hearing Blue had a giant size poop lol
    He must feel so much better. Glad he's enjoying his sun bath and had a nice bowl of food
    At least you can rest now :bighug::bighug::bighug:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2023
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Jodey&Eddie&Blue
    I just had to put this :p I know I'm a sick person lol
    [​IMG]
     
    Tiger(GA) and Ruth likes this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Happy day! Enjoy your Caturday Jodey. :bighug::bighug:
     
  6. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    LOL!!! That's pretty much it!!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  7. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thanks, Wendy!!!!
     
  8. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thanks, Diane!! That is the best dance ever!!!!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  9. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Go Blue!! (pun intended, lol)

    I often smile at the thought of what our reaction would have been if we could tell our 18-year-old selves the sheer joy we’d experience when (drumroll)… THE CAT POOPED. :confused:

    I’m so glad Blue is home and clearly feeling better. One more drama notch on your belt of life. Here’s hoping for clear sailing for awhile.
     
  10. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So, so true!!
     
  11. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Blue at home on his favourite ratty little rug. I've put a scarf around him for good measure. He's pooped (no pun intended). They said he would be exhausted but he's peed twice and had a bowl of food.
    upload_2023-6-3_13-56-1.jpeg
     
  12. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Yay! Go Blue, best news!! Hugs to Sweet Blue and you, too. You must be so relieved! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  13. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I am probably as relieved as is Blue!!! But you're so right: BEST NEWS!. Right now, he's on that little rug and grooming, which is such a good sign.
     
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    That is wonderful news! I'm so happy for you and Blue! :):):):):):):)
     
  15. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    So pleased to see this update!
     
  16. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    BTW, I now have 11 syringes of Buphrenorphine left over since they all said don't give him any more heavy sedative.
    a) how long does it last?
    b) is anyone nearby that could benefit from having? I live in the Okanagan, BC.
     
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Aww he's has to be exhausted after this ordeal, but he's home now snug s a bug in a rug ,give him a big kiss for me .I hope you all get a good nights sleep tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  18. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    NO you are not sick, I was looking for the same emoji, too bad this one doesn't do the happy poop dance as well LOL! :joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  19. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Oh Jodey, I am so sorry for all your poor baby Blue has gone through, and you as well! How agonizing to watch helplessly while our furbabies are suffering. So very happy to hear he has pooped(enough for 3 cats at that LOL!!!) :joyful::joyful::joyful: FWIW, my DH was hospitalized for a bowel obstruction years ago and it sounded very like what you described with Blue, the nasalgastric tube with PEG, etc. It is a very scary thing to happen, I know :eek::eek::eek::eek: but I am glad you were able to get him to the ER vet promptly and get him treated. That's not easy to get into the ER Vets down here where I live, the wait times are horrenderous. Enjoy your nap, cuddle with your boys and take a deep breath, you survived! I'll keep reading to see what the MRI was for later. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  20. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    We totally will. zzzzzzzz. :bighug::bighug:Thank you! :cat::)
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  21. Carole & Indigo

    Carole & Indigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    So glad Blue is home and feeling better! Yay for poop!! :cat:
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  22. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thank you, Carla!!!!
     
  23. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thank you, Carole!!! Good night!!!!
     
    Carole & Indigo likes this.
  24. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So, because of all the wonkiness this entire week, I kept Blue's dose @ 3.5u which is what he was getting on and off during the week...We'll see what happens.

    Again, thank you all you wonderful people. Your support meant so much to help get through this!! Goodnight!!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  25. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    As far as the buprenorphine, it doesn't last that long. Try seeing if you can find a cat rescue in Kelowna that could use it. It's pricey and I'm sure someone would appreciate it. The Okanagan Humane Society assists low income families and might know someone who could use it. If not them, try the SPCA. I found a rescue specializing in senior animals that were happy to get many of Neko's meds.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  26. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thank you, Carole!!
     

Share This Page