06/14 Poopers AMPS 1.3(23)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Poopers and Catia, Jun 14, 2021.

  1. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Hi everyone... unfortunately Poopers numbers are at 1.3 (23). We've dropped his insulin the other day from 3U to 2.75U and stopped giving him dry food for 3 days now and now his numbers dropped. Today im buying the Fancy Feast classic pate. I shouldnt give him any insulin right? Should i drop his units again?
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, please skip the dose this morning, feed him some high carb food.

    With the food change in play, I am wondering if you should take a larger reduction that 0.25U.

    @tiffmaxee
     
  3. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Thats what i was thinking, do you think i should only feed him wet food or have some dry involved as well?
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If he is managing without the dry, it makes sense to keep him on wet and reduce the dose instead.

    He is still getting the Royal Canin food which is 14% carbs, right?
     
  5. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Yes for now, i am going to buy some Fancy Feast classic pate today if i find it
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Ok. That's even lower carb than his current wet food!

    Did you feed him some high carb food/honey? Are his numbers higher now?

    Please take off the 911 now, thanks! :)
     
  7. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Will the Fancy Feast drop his levels a lot?

    I am going to check now.... 4.2 mmol/L (76)
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    His levels are high from the high carb food (wet and dry). The switch to a low carb food like Fancy Fest should bring down his numbers and his insulin requirements - which is good. No point in feeding high carbs and then keeping him at a high dose to offset that!

    Just taking out the high carb dry is making a big difference.
     
  9. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    How much insulin should i give him tonight?
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What are you going to feed him today and tonight? I think I would continue with the 14%, stop the dry, and get some ff lc. You need to add the new foods slowly to avoid intestinal upset. Has he had issues with new foods ever?
     
    Poopers and Catia likes this.
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Catia has stopped giving the Hill Dry which was HC but Poopers is till on RC wet which is 14% carbs (MC).

    Do you think she can go down to 2U tonight?
     
    Poopers and Catia likes this.
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think I would play it safe and reduce to 2.0. Eliminating the dry has made a huge impact. See if others agree with us.
     
  13. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Hes pretty good with food but i can mix them for a couple days
     
  14. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    I can give him 2U tonight. Just making sure, i cant drop from 2.75U to 2U? i dont have to go down by .25?
     
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    We normally reduce by 0.25U, but because the food change, he probably needs much less than he's getting right now. We are being cautious and reducing by more than 0.25U. He may need even less than 2U as his diet is changed to low carb. We'll take it as it comes.

    From tonight, please go down to 2U.
     
  16. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Ok will do and i will keep updating the spreadsheet and update everyone tomorrow morning! Thank you everyone :bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'm glad others suggested 2.0 units, I would have said the same. We want you to get to a dose you can shoot consistently without skips, hopefully 2.0 will let you do that and we can figure out from there if you need to increase back up. Good luck with the new dose.
     
  18. Poopers and Catia

    Poopers and Catia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2021
    Thank you so much!
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looks like a bug bounce. Sometimes it’s a good thing. Gives you a chance to relax.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page